1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading Raid 0 SSDs and TRIM

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by SkullFox, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. SkullFox New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    73 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Mozambique
    I'm in the middle of overhauling my Maverick (yes, that is the name of my PC:D).

    Right now I have the Following:
    C2Q Q9550 @ 3.4Ghz "Yorkfield"
    Asus P5Q Pro
    2x ATI HD5870 1Gb Crossfire
    2 x Intel X25-M SSD in Raid0, 3 x 2Tb Hdd Samsung


    I already bought the ram and board:
    Corsair XMS3 — 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 Memory Kit (CMX8GX3M2A1600C9)
    Asrock Z68 Fatal1ty Pro


    CPU will be 2500K and I will order it next week.

    Now, I have a doubt. Should I upgrade the Sdds?
    I saw in the PassMark Charts that the Corsair Force GTs would be a nice buy. But, after looking at Toms Hardware Charts I saw that this drive is very low on the scale, actually even lower that the ones I have.
    This begs the question, WFT?? :wtf: Which one is right?



    TRIM:

    There is another thing I don't understand, TRIM, I know what it does and how it works, but I have RAID 0. I have searched far into this and I can't get a clear answer, does it work on RAID0 or not? Intel released a driver for it but, I think it is only for Intel Boards, at least that is what it says on the website.
  2. PaNiC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    No... only SSD that support trim in raid 0 is the pci-e Revo3 drives
  3. SkullFox New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    73 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Mozambique
  4. PaNiC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I hope that clears it up
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,755 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    US
    Intel did at some point say trim did work in raid but shortly after changed it to not working. In fact i have the same drives which are all so in raid and are running on a Vista OS so differently no trim going be going on..


    However i have not had any issue's with mine which makes me thing Intels garbage collection is working as well as it needs too.

    IF you have the second to last firmware update on your SSD's you don't need the latest one as it's for their newer drives.

    There is a alpha version of intels drivers around version 11 but Aplha version pretty means keep away to me so make sure you install the v10 drivers.
  6. SkullFox New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    73 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Mozambique
    thanks for the thoughts...

    any word on the upgrade? should I invest in newer SSDs? or keep to the ones I have?
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,755 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    US
    Well those 2 in raid 0 you should be able hit 500MB's anyways so there not worth replacing.

    Intel x-25m in raid 0 ( this was done some time ago )
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page