1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading Sister's Computer

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dex88Hero, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. Dex88Hero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey everyone! I'm new and I am having trouble upgrading my sister's PC. She brought it from Best buy for $250.00 but after buying a new laptop she no longer wants it. I am trying to build a gaming PC and I was wnondering if it would be better to build one on my own or upgrade the one she has left here.

    Currently the only things I want to keep inside of the original rig is the:

    Western Digital 500 GB HDD
    and the DVD/CD ROM Drive

    The parts I want to add to this:

    Corsair CMPSU-750TXV2 Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 Power Supply
    GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Intel Z68 Motherboard
    Intel Core i5-2500K
    EVGA 02G-P3-1568-KR GeForce GTX 560 Ti Video Card

    (I'm a Dreamer and I'm not very experienced)

    Would this change my software? What should I expect when I install these items?

    Thank You!
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Windows 7 (if the original operating system is Windows 7) generally takes hardware overhauls like a champ, but it's not perfect. You might also want to check out the inside of the case to make sure it can accommodate long power supplies like the TX750 and full ATX boards like the UD3H-B3 you picked.

    There could also be overheating issues if the case lacks proper ventilation, as most prebuilt cases do.
     
    Dex88Hero says thanks.
  3. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    489 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Arcadia
    if is a game pc i give you advice with change the cooler of the cpu if in the future you wanna oc for better performance , the hd is a western digital caviar green? if is caviar green its much better put a caviar blue or caviar black for boot drive and use the caviar green for storage
     
    Dex88Hero says thanks.
  4. Dex88Hero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanx! Any recommendations as far as Heat Sinks and cases go?

    Sorry, the Hard Drive is a Seagate Barracuda 500 GB.
     
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Plenty of nice cases on Newegg. Here are some: NZXT Cases & Rosewill Cases

    This Hyper 212+ is a great budget heatsink.
     
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    Its no longer an upgrade, but complete rebuild =.=

    I would recommend to start from scratch if you are junking everything except the harddrive, maybe you should repurpose the harddrive for archiving.
     
  7. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    433 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    coventry UK
    be careful. I'm surprised no one has mentioned this but none of the 1155 motherboards support IDE.

    make sure both the hard drive and the DVD drive are SATA.

    You missed Ram off the list. I would add 4 GB min, 8GB is optimal.
    You may also want to add a larger CPU cooler. The coolermaster hyper 212+ is a viable cheap aftermarket cooler.

    For software you should be installing windows 7 64 bit. If you pick more than 12GB of ram you must pick the ultimate edition as lesser editions will not see all the ram over 12GB.

    Edit for bad information TY jsfitz54

    Starter: 8GB
    Home Basic: 8GB
    Home Premium: 16GB
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2012
  8. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    908 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Iceni and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
  9. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,800
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Great info there jsfitz54. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Dex88Hero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, so I went over everything. The Seagate Barracuda hard drive and DVD/CD drive is definatley using SATA.

    Currently I'm set up like this:

    Cooler Master RC-430-KWN1 Elite 430 Mid Tower ATX Case
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6430030&sku=C283-3122
    GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Intel Z68 Motherboard
    Cooler Master RR-212E-20PK-R1 Hyper 212 EVO Universal CPU Cooler
    Patriot G2 Series PGD38G1600ELK Division 2 Edition Desktop Memory Kit - 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Intel Core i5-2500K
    EVGA 02G-P3-1568-KR GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB Video Card
    Seagate Barracuda HDD 500GB w/ Windows 7 Basic
    Sister's DVD/CD ROM Drive

    all of which will run me about $775 from tiger direct.

    Sounds smart?
     
  11. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,137 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I'd pull out what u want, junk the rest in ur closet/garage/garbage and rebuild from scratch like was already stated. Pre-built cases suck, assuming u can even get all the parts out of it it'll likely be too poorly ventialted to provide any cooling to the parts u plan on putting in.

    Also.. is ur sister hot :D
     
  12. Dex88Hero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Classified information.
     
  13. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,460 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    ^ LOL

    looks like a pretty good build for the price, beware of their prices at tigerdirect, a lot of them are after mail in rebates. the only thing i don't really like about their store, and the restocking fee for a return.

    as for that 2gb 560ti, what's the price on it?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Can't beleive noone has asked this but, What brand/model is the old PC?
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    I don't think it really matters Jr

    $250 from BB, pretty good chance it isn't worth mentioning. :rolleyes:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Never know! Could have been bought in outlet/open box/scratch n dent sale, have say an Athlon II x4 in it without any upgradeability.
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL Jr, His build he has Spec'd looks like the winner in the long run. Also most prebuilds now a days are mATX motherboards so you could pickup a HTPC case later on and make a great media PC for your LCD/LED TV.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Why the LOL? Hey it's worth mentioning. Just saying, if the main use were to be say gaming I know myself that I would rather use the cost of 2500k to be put towards a good video card.
     
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Well maybe he will post specs of the prebuilt but as others have said, 250$ at best buy doesn't seem like a speed demon :)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    well I guess it could be a Phenom II or higher end C2Q system
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh I do agree.

    Yup, exactly! I could see it housing an x3 4xx chip most likely. If it's a C2D or less, I will rebuke my words then say go with the a full build.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Also you must remember that most prebuilt boards only have a certain CPU support range. It may not support something like a 1100T or 1090T or any 6 core for that fact.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    yeah, but if it has say a AM3 Phenom II in it, or even a AM2, he could use that for now with a AM3+ mb and get a better GPU, then upgrade to PD if it's worth a crap for a future upgrade.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If hes going to change the motherboard and ram anyways (if its am2/am2+ with DDR2) then there is no point in doing anything to it. Just buy the setup he has spec'd and use the older system for HTPC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,131 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,800
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yes you need to post spec of the current system and it may help us give better advice.



    Also.. is ur sister hot :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page