1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading to i7 2600K, NEED HELP.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by The Witcher, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Hi.

    I'm typing this in a hurry !!

    I need your help.

    What's the best 1155 P67 motherboard for an i7-2600K which supports 2 way SLI, has a space for a PCI-e soundcard and with an acceptable overclocking capability ?

    I looked at the Asus Maximum III Formula but the two PCI-e slots are too close to each other which may create heat problems.

    One last thing, should I get this new motherboard and cpu tomorrow or there is something better coming very soon ? I'm kinda outdated right now.

    THANKS IN ADVANCE !!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  2. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Biostar TP67B+


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
    The Witcher says thanks.
  3. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    With only 16 lanes of PCIe for the P67 boards, I don't think its a good idea (or possible) to run 2 graphics card AND a PCIe soundcard.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,866 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,848
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    unless he got the gigabyte UD7 motherboard.
     
    The Witcher says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  7. CBRworm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I don't know that any 1155 motherboards are currently available until the recalled parts get replaced.
     
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    Even with the UD7 you are still going to be limited to 16 lanes, that is the P67's limitation, not the motherboard's.
     
  9. Wimpelmann

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    got the Asrock p67 Exetreme6 and is does SLI & Crossfire

    running my i2500k with aircooler @ 4500 mhz


    [​IMG]



    greeetz Marc
     
  10. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Yeah , you know that right ?
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,996 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,464
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  13. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I have an Asus P8P67 WS Revolution for $200 if you can't wait.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  14. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,979 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,555
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    That's not the case, the N200 chip on the UD7 allows for 32 PCIe lanes for dual 16x SLI And 16x8x8x triple SLI. It also has a 1x PCIe slot that's blocked by a heatsink but can be used with a PCIe riser for a sound card without affecting the other PCIe slots.

    Other N200 boards the OP may consider are:

    Asus P8P67 WS Revolution B3 (dual 16x SLI with enough room between 16x slots)
    MSI P67A-GD80 (B3) (Same here it appears) Sorry, it looks like no N200 was used for this board.

    Both rev. B3 boards are set to launch in the next few weeks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    Crap, I completely forgotten about the N200 :eek:
     
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,581 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    The Maximus IV Extreme also has NF200.
     
  17. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    If the two graphic cards PCI-e slots were running at 8x would that cause any problem such as low FPS ?
     
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,581 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Like 2% slower than 16x.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,444 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,368
    NF200 isn't even necessary. The P67 chipset gives an additional 8 lanes off the southbridge that are used to drive the PCI-e x1 slots and connect other onboard devices to. And a lot of the other manufacturers are using less expensive bridge chips to further add lanes off of those 8 provided by the southbridge. For example, PLX makes a bridge chip that takes an x1 link in and provides 7 additional lanes off that, or it will take an x2 link and provide 6 lanes.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
    Fourstaff says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Ummm...didn't they fix that degrading speed issue ?

    Because it seems like most online retailers don't have any P67 motherboards. Another problem is that I was planning to buy it locally, hopefully I won't be tricked into buying one of these defected hardware.

    Right now it seems like the P8P67 WS Revolution is my best option.
     
  21. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    By the way, is it wise to just wait for the socket 2011 motherboard ? What's the approximate release date ?
     
  22. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Prolly a good board but it will be a few months. Intel may be speeding it up (Can`t imagine why). Bulldozer will be here shortly.
     
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,444 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,368
    They have released the new revision of the chipset a week or so ago, however the motherboard manufacturers haven't gotten the new boards out on the market yet.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Hmmm..so I'm pretty much stuck until they start resupplying retailers...

    You see, I don't want to buy a new motherboard then having to sell it after 3 months because a new platform was released.

    If you were me and you had a limited budget, what would you do ? upgrade to the 1155 socket motherboard ? wait for the 2011 socket motherboards ?

    I'm afraid of upgrading then regretting it later.
     
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    I keep on having this impression that the 6x and the 55 chipsets having only 16 lanes and that's it. Thanks for clearing that up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page