1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading to Quad questions

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by AlmicheV, May 15, 2008.

  1. AlmicheV New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi all. Am considering upgrading to Quad as I plan to do video work and 3D digital art. At the moment I have AMD Dual core 4000+. My first question is would it be worth just upgrading to a faster dual core (max is 5800+ on my mboard)?

    Next, are Intels better than Athlons at the moment? My PSU is a 450W Corsair. Would this be ok for a Quad system? And is DDR2 ram ok for a quad system?

    Thanks. :toast:
  2. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Well which quad do you plan on upgrading to. And intel is faster than amd right now. 450 Watts shouldn't be a problem but it also depends on what else is in your system. DDR2 will work just fine with a quad system.
  3. AlmicheV New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Am looking at the Q6600 with the p35-ds3r mboard. Would have 2 hard drives, not sure which graphics card yet though as I hear nvidia are better suited to Intel than ATI and need to research. 4gb of ram should be enough.

    Thanks.
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    What programs are you planning to use? If they are multithreaded a slower quad most likely will be the better choice over a faster dual core.
  5. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Yea you would probably see a performance increase across virtually everything. Do you plan on overclocking your q6600? And power shouldn't be an issue as corsair makes powerful psu's. Right now nvidia does seem to have a better deal on video cards but if you wouldn't mind waiting another month before you buy a video card theres a whole new set coming out which should stir things up. And 4gb of ram should be plenty.
  6. AlmicheV New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't know yet, probably just basic video editing and adding sound etc.
  7. AlmicheV New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    No overclucking, and good that my psu should be ok.

    Will do research into video cards.

    Thanks for your help.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page