1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upload speeds...

Discussion in 'General Software' started by HookeyStreet, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    This is my conversation with an online 'live help' rep at AOHell :laugh: :

    11:24:36 AOL UK SupportYour initial query was:

    11:26:44 You: Hi, Im currently on the Platinum 2MB broadband package and i understand that soon this will be upgraded 8MB. I was wondering if the actual upload speed will be increased also because the upload speed has remained at 288kbps after every upgrade????

    11:27:40 Pankaj Pandey: Upload speed will be same 288

    11:29:22 You: but why? It makes more sense to increase the upload aswell as the download, 288kbps is just too little when other ISP offer faster upload speeds. Im an online gamer and upload speed is just as important as download!!!

    11:30:09 Pankaj Pandey: I would like to inform you that only the transfer speed and download speed changes and the upload speed will be same.

    11:30:41 You: I know you just told me that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11:30:43 Pankaj Pandey: Upload speed is same for every ISP till not.

    11:30:56 Pankaj Pandey: now*

    11:31:58 You: thats not true!!!! Freedom2Surf offer higher upload speeds than 288kbps

    11:33:25 Pankaj Pandey: for every ISP you have the default 288 upload speed you can not change that its for every server its a default
    upload speed for home usages only for corporate and other big organizations only have T 3 connect that has a different upload speed.

    11:34:18 Pankaj Pandey: T 3 connection has a different upload speed.

    11:35:31 You: If thats true why does my friend have a freedom2Surf home use account and his upload speed is 512kbps?????

    11:36:41 Pankaj Pandey: Internet is devices in 4 different parts 1 comes for HOME, 2ND For offices, 3rd for big organizations(T 3 connection) and last for the big server ( T 4).

    11:36:52 Pankaj Pandey: divided*

    11:37:36 You: but if he has juat an 'home' account why are his speeds better than AOL's???

    11:37:43 You: just*

    11:39:14 Pankaj Pandey: I would like to inform you that upload speed can never be in 512 kbps only the transfer and download speed can be like----- 256, 512 , 1024 , 2272 this is all transfer and download speed.

    11:40:16Pankaj PandeyUpload speed comes as 288, 576, etc

    11:40:50Youso what your saying is that Freedom2Surf must be lying to customers about the upload speeds???

    11:41:18 You: it may have been 576kbps, Im not sure.

    11:42:04 Pankaj Pandey: I will advice you as you are using Internet is the ocean of knowledge you can surf and find out if I am wrong.

    11:42:51 Pankaj Pandey: Only the transfer and download speed changes .

    11:44:08 Pankaj Pandey: And upload speed only comes in affects when you use the large amount of PC like 100 to 200 PC are networked together.

    11:44:22 Pankaj Pandey: or more than that.

    11:44:37 You: Ok thank you

    What do you guys make of that then? Sounds like bull to me, or am I wrong?
  2. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Well all the cable modems I've been looking at support around 40Mbps upload, so I don't think that the modem is responsible for a limitation. It is concievable that companies limit upload speeds allowed to prevent congestion, but this doesn't make since since they are increasing upload speeds. I feel that in areas with fiber optic cable and increase of over 256Kbps is more than feasible, and most likely in areas with analog cable too. As far as ADSL goes I just don't know. SDSL offers 1Mbps upload.
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    this belongs in something awful :laugh:...seriously they have loads of experiences with AOL, and there aren't alot of good ones lol. I prefer to look at internet in terms of capabilities to host internet games lol. My DSL can host 10 people and still keep pings in the low hundreds :D.
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It's quite simple, they offer you an increase in download speed, which you should be happoy with. They don't HAVE to do that in the first place. Don't look a gifted horse in the mouth.

    Sure other ISP's offer higher speeds, you're free to change ISP.
    Though I do agree, 8Mb/288Kb is pretty much a joke. We get 1Mb up here with nearly all ISP's, which even sucks. I wish they gave us more upload speed so I could spread pr0n easier errrr play games online.
  5. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    stockton california USA

    comcast cable is the most popular for broadband internet in this area, as it can be used in any home with cable tv, even if you dont buy their cable tv.

    its $50 for the internet and $50 for the basic cable service, if you buy both you get $10 of the internet charge. *this is monthly*

    so $90 a month you get cable and 6mbs down 384k up. which is a standard home connection.

    a business connection that is available around here is (i think called FIOS) which is like 10mbps up and 10mbps down, which is a symmetrical connection used for uploads, downloads, VPNs, and many other applications.

    i dont understand why the guy from AOL is saying only 288 and 576 only, those arnt even standard speeds. usually its 144, 288, 566. upload speeds can be ANY actual number.
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I know I shouldnt moan but I thought an increase in upload speed would improve online gaming.
    Oh well, my moaning paid off because they are sending me a free modem router (with wireless home networking) worth £55 :pimp:
  7. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    just curious, what router? lol gj, i used to get free lift tickets by complaining the competitor had snow and was open 3 weeks before they were.
  8. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    my DSL costs $30 a month for 3Mb down, 768K up. I don't watch TV alot anymore :p , but analog comcast costs about $50 a month, and I'm trying to talk my parents into dumping those guys and getting lots of movie and game rental subscriptions.
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Its either the Thomson 576 or 580 :D
  10. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    0o here in Germany its a bit different
    u can have adsl which is atm 1 mbit/10kb, 2mbit/16kb, 6mbit/512kb, and adsl2 with 16mbit/1mbit

    so dunno what aol tells u, but it depends on the country you live in which cables u have there which standard and at least how far away are from your next acces point?^^
    on adsl @max it can be 3 kilometers which are 3000 meters so if your are out of range from your acces point you can have nothing here!
  11. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Our ADSL (ADSL'n rate limits are 8Mbit/1Mbit btw) line is 2Mbit in and 512kbps out, and costs 34€/month. Some time ago, when 2Mbit was the fastest ADSL connection in Finland, many ISPs gave 1Mbit upload, but now almost every 2Mbit line comes with 512kbps upload rate. Only 8Mbit lines have 1Mbit uploads.

    ADSL2 and ADSL2+ connections are also available, but upload is again 1Mbit. But AOLs 288kbps upload sounds just a piece of shit... Of course people need more upload than 288kbps :mad:

    And most cable modem connections here have at least 512kbps upload rate.
  12. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    38 Euros is a pretty good deal. Wish a connection like that would only cost that much for me.
  13. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    edit/update:D
    iam paying 60 euro for everything
    isdn
    free to phone to everyone in germany but cellphones
    6mbit asdl
    i think its a pretty good price

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page