1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ups which one?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AsRock, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    0 years labor? LOL. Probably a typo.
    AsRock says thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,560 (10.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,073
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    900W sounds good
    AsRock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    agreed. also get it because game pad. like processors you should only ever be in it for the case badge/freebies
    AsRock says thanks.
  5. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Looks like those things die early frequently.

    I would also go with the 900 Watt model.
    AsRock says thanks.
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    There is one more thing that bothers me and thats the sinewave were some say it don't work with all active PSU's and as seen as mine is active it's put a little red flag up.

    Although there is reviews there some have had no issue with active psu's.
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    Well went witht he CP1500AVRLCD hope it does it's job hehe. There was actually another one that court my eye too but was only 510w ( OP850 850VA ). And to have one of those in the 900w-1000w range was $320 +35 + postage.

    Was tempted though getting the 510w one due to being able to change the high\low voltages.
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,866 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    I've got the CP1500AVRLCD on my main rig, couldn't be happier, and haven't had an issue at all.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. JayliN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    NYC
    I really like cyberpower myself. Been through APC->Geek Squad Brand-> Belkin-> cyberpower and I love cyberpower's software monitoring. The software is certified to work in windows 7 too. Tells me the exact power draw of the devices plugged into the battery backup outlets.
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    What kinda load \ time you get with it ?.
  11. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    You probably wont need that kind of power unless you want to a lot of uptime during a power outage. I have one that does 800w or something. the draw on it with my speakers turned on is like 350w. ive got a 750w psu, quad core, 4870x2. so not a light system by any means.
  12. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,094 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Running that system in your spces, I can't see you needing a 900 w psu.
    My system is likely quite a bit more demanding 8 series gpu and all.
    I run an 800 and no problems.

    But be careful and don't buy a crappy brand that doesn't have a least 2 12v rails.
    also make sure it is stable.
    just because it says 900 w, it could really run more like 8 with massive fluctuations, which can actually cause problems.

    I like OCZ so far.
    I'm sure there's better out there though.
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2010
  13. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    You do not want to get "cheap" with these. Get the best one you can afford. Cyberpower, Tripp-lite or APC are the ones I can personally recommend. Out of the three I would go with Cyberpower hands down.
  14. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    He's looking for a UPS not a PSU. Its 900w to power his computer, monitor and any other devices he needs on a power outage. They also have very strong surge protection.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,866 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Idle my main rig pulls about 260w, yeah the hard drives add up, which gives me about 15 minutes of runtime. Which is more than enough since I have the computer shut down after 1 minute on battery power. Load is about 400w and runtime is about 8 minutes.
    AsRock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    Sweet mines around 210w idle and 360 max. At a guess my HDTV is going add like 100w to that. Will see on monday
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    I get 17m about not to bad and the HDTV only takes 70-80w which is not bad at all for a 40" screen @ 1920x1080. Their is how ever a 20w difference from the unit and the Zalman fan controller which is higher.

    261w including TV and around 10m @ full load.
  18. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    If your power supply has active PFC, your UPS must support this also. Without such support, the UPS will not switch to backup power, because each time it alarm overload. I had a problem with that. Only one out of five UPS in my job is working correctly with new computers.
  19. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    I'll only ever use APC. About three years ago my house was hit by a lightning strike. It surged the power lines so hard my UPS fried. APC's warranty covered the PSU, mobo, CPU, video card and RAID card that went with it. They even sent me boxes to send all the stuff to them and refunded the shipping costs. I only wish my insurance company was as smooth with the rest of the stuff that needed replacing.
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,475 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,430
    Location:
    IA, USA
    FYI, Cyberpower PowerPanel works with Serial Cable (RS-232) aswell (have to use it in Windows Vista/7 because the UPS service is no more :(). Of course, it only knows the condition of the battery and if it is using AC or battery power. I don't use USB for the sake of KIS.


    For shits and giggles, I pluged it in via USB. I have two 3-4 year old 1200AVR models.

    System Spec computer @ 12.5% CPU load:
    Remaining battery runtime: 25 minutes
    UPS load: 172 watts

    System Spec computer @ 100% CPU load:
    Remaining battery runtime: 16 minutes
    UPS load: 232 watts


    Dual Xeon 5310 Server (6 HDDs, 8 sticks of DDR2 RAM, Radeon 5570 HD card, Enermax Revolution 85+ 850w) @ 100% CPU load:
    Remaining battery runtime: 14 minutes
    UPS load: 292 watts


    Both computers have active PFC and both UPS batteries successfully shuts down their respective computers as it should after two minutes on charge. They have saved my bacon too many times to count.
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,866 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    Active PFC should not matter with the UPS, and will not affect the UPS switching to battery power. Active PFC is contained in the PSU, it does nothing to the outside AC line, and the UPS only cares about what is coming from the wall, it doesn't matter what is plugged into it.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
  23. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    ROFL..

    *sigh* ups... these are all the ups's that are in my study.

    [​IMG]

    The ultra is my best ups at 2000va + AVR (active voltage regulation)..
    [​IMG]

    I cant seem to overload the ultra on ANY of these psu's:
    [​IMG]

    Then would come the APC, i feel tho that APC makes them better then cyberpower.

    APC however has a funky high pitched hiss tho, so if that bothers ya, grab the cyberpower.

    I heard the new APS that came out fixed this. So you might want to look at those with the black LCD screen.

    My main system uses the ultra 2000va.
    My gainestown uses the apc
    My sammy uses the cyberpower
    My LCD's are on the smaller cyberpower
    My router and network stuff is sharing the same ups as my sammy.

    Oh here is my super limited edition overclocked Cyberpower i7 UPS.
    [​IMG]

    Need to read the manual on how to get the cpu to fit properly. :D
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,866 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,970
    I think I've got the same smaller CyberPower UPS running my server(Rig2) in my basement.:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. AzureOfTheSky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    i prefer apc or triplite UPS's personally, they have given me better support and warr service(both have covered stuff that got blown a while back

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page