1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

{Urgent} ASUS Z87-A RAM Problems

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Durvelle27, Jan 31, 2014.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Ok so here's the short story. I ordered a ASUS Z87-A ATX motherboard. First one arrived with a few bent pins and i was sent a replacement but now i'm having problems with it. Problem is it won't boot when 2 sticks of RAM is installed. I have tried all dual channel slots & different configs. Only way i can get it to boot with two sticks is either set RAM to 800MHz or Single channel if not PC will constantly reboot. Please Help. What could the problem be.

    Full Specs in config
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,999 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,874
    Stick is pooped.. exactly the same problem I had on my system a while back.

    I swapped mobos and the ram was fine till I removed it and thats all it took to have the exact problem your having.
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    RAM works fine in single channel and in my old system from a week ago 8350
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,999 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,874
    Yeah I read that but id betcha dollars to donuts the ram is fucked.. dont you have a spare set to try?

    Get some new ram or rma your set and problem solved.. its just picture perfect to the exact problem my system had when I swapped boards.. ;)
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    no spare set and ill see if i can RMA them
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,999 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,874
    Yeah that be your best bet. I was saying I had the same problem and just couldn't figure out why the system was borked knowing the ram was fine just an hour before going into the new mobo but it happens.. tiny static shock I was thinking and being winter the air is naturally dry and static is a problem. I'm 99.9% sure if you get different sticks you wont have any issues. . Just make sure to hold the metal of the case with one hand while putting in the memory to avoid any other mishaps ;)
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    After a suggestion from a member I ran MemTest86+ and got this

    [​IMG]
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    That's pooped alright.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Lots of "bad"... pooped!
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Thx guys for the help. Awaiting my RMA ticket. Have no clue how these could have just stopped working as they were fine with my FX-8350.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    OK ran memtest on both sticks alone and both passed in first two slots after 8hrs but fail in last two.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page