1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Urgent] Boot a Motherboard with No Power Button

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ammonite, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I have no case and I want to test my mini-ITX designed Intel Desktop Board D525MW.

    No idea how to do this. The power supply makes the light on the board go on, I've tried touching the red on / off pins together and jump it but it doesn't work.

    Going insane. Urgent help needed, I don't have a lot of time to have it sitting around on the desk.
     
  2. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    You need to jump the green with the ground (black) googling for pic
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    That picture makes no sense to me. I have a 10pin PicoPSU that is nothing like traditional power supplies. I thought this has to do with pins on the motherboard?
     
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry 'bout that, let me google an image for a pico PSU....
     
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,490 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Didn't read :laugh:

    I think your confused here he wants to power on the system not test if the psu works which might be a good idea anyway considering it wont turn on

    momentarily touch the two red pins with something metal to jump them if it dont turn on something else is wrong
    [​IMG]
     
    Ammonite and m1dg3t say thanks.
  6. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Uh oh.

    I have been doing that using a screw driver but nothing has been happening. Does this mean I might have a broken board? D:
     
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    You got me! Was being lazy and just read the thread title :laugh: O/P you got your answer now :)

    Edit: Perhap's you have to maintain contact longer for it to BOOT up?
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  8. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,490 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    @ midget, ive done this more times than i can count

    @Ammonite try re seating the RAM or just 1 stick at a time, removing all add in cards, clear CMOS.

    According to spec that board takes a standard 24 pin + 4pin CPU if your using a pico itx psu you may have already killed it.
     
    Ammonite says thanks.
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Learn somethin' new everyday! Back to my beer :toast:

    O/P hope the board/PSU aint fried
     
  10. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I've done extensive searching and the PicoPSU is not only designed for mini-itx boards, but its compatible with numerous Intel Desktop Boards including this one.

    Definitely not a problem there.

    EDIT: I think I may have found the problem related to a very silly problem with cables. I'll update soon.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Just the slightest touch is enough to power it on. As stated if it's not turning on then something else is wrong.

    Hope OP can update us soon. :toast:
     
  12. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Okay I'm an idiot. My inexperience with hardware and retail gullibility has shined through.

    I'm missing a crucial cable to power the CPU. I didn't know what I was doing and relied on the product description of "powers your mini-itx motherboard without any extra cables" when really I have a motherboard that requires an extension cable to power the CPU that is sold separately.

    Fingers cross I haven't destroyed it.
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    lol..........:rockout: I doubt you fried it but .. eh live and learn....
     
    Ammonite says thanks.
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It happens to all of us at one point man, pretty sure the rig is okay. Keep us posted.
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I did the same thing last week. I assembled my HTPC in its case and pressed the power button to get no post. I worked for about 15 minutes before I noticed no 4 pin connected LOL. Thats what I get for being in a rush
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Lol :eek:
     
  17. JTCPingas09

    JTCPingas09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Missouri, United States
    A few weeks ago I built a new rig. The thing wouldn't power on and I was under the assumption that the motherboard was DOA. Next thing I assumed was that my power supply wasn't up to the task. Turned out there was a brass standoff touching the bottom of the board. :D Thankfully the board itself is perfectly fine.
     
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,871 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Short its front-panel power switch pins with a screwdriver.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page