1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Use 775 cooler on AM3 socket mobo, is possible ???

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DaC, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    I have a Dynatron 1U cooper cooler model P12G and I want to use it on a AM3 motherboard, is it possible ? :confused:
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Why would you want to use that cooler?

    Its so loud!
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Not unless you make mount holes for it. Looks like it sucks to be honest.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
  7. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Yeah... I'm thinking about buying the right one... A46G
    http://www.xpcgear.com/dynatron-a46g-server-cpu-cooler-socket-am2.html

    But which sucks is that I can't find a store that Ships it using Priority small flat-rate box, which is only $13.00..... they only want to ship it EMS and charge $40.00 or $48.00 only for shipping... I paid $35.00 to have mine 775 shipped.... but I'm not willing to pay that much anymore..... :mad:

    Unless someone........ on tpu....... is willing to do some forwarding for me.... :p :p :p
    Well.. you know what I mean.... do want some extra buck ???? :D


    Well... the problem is having the right tools for modding it......
    I have my Xig S1283 AM2 mounts...... will this help ?

    It happens on the best families... :laugh:
    Oh, BTW the HD 4550 didn't make it this week... I'm quite sure it will on the next one =]


    Yes peet this is for a HTPC, I dont have any extra room as I want to put two hard drives on the top of cpu along with a modified power supply...
    I really want to build a HTPC that is 25x25x13cm and can fit a nice hardware inside (without optic drive)......

    Do you want to do some forwarding for me ??? :laugh:
    I'll need to buy some stuff on newegg also..... we can talk about $$$$ :toast:

    Diego
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    iirc the 1283 has a latch for the base of their coolers. It may take some trial and error testing, but i bet you could pull the pins in the cooler now, and slide the Xig bar between a couple fins. For $40 Id try it first. If you need something reboxed and shipped, hit me up via PM to work out the fine points.
    DaC says thanks.
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If I can find it for cheap I don't mind shipping on your behalf as well ( UK retail prices are pretty high so it may not be worth it)
  10. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    I just checked.... the xig bar is a little smaller... about 3mm.... I would have to chop a little the heatsink or the bar so it could go through... also I'm not quite sure if even it reaching the bottom if any other modification won't be necessary... I'd rather buy the A46G model.

    I'll PM about the forwarding stuff.... :toast:


    Sweet! Maybe if we're lucky.... :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page