1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

using two wireless routers

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Easy Rhino, May 30, 2008.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,727 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    i am wondering if it is possible to use 2 wireless routers at the same time. the main wireless router is hooked up to the cable modem and broadcasts wirelessly. about 150 feet from that i would like to add a wireless router that would share the internet connection. can 2 wireless routers talk to eachother in that way?

    example
    FLOOR 1
    modem=>wireless router A=>PS3,NAS
    FLOOR 2
    wireless router B=>PC,PC,notebook

    where the 2 pcs and the notebook are wireless and connect to wireless router B INSTEAD of wireless router A.
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    As far as "connecting" wirless routers. It all comes down to if they support WDS wireless bridging.

    EDIT: Speaking of which, which routers do you currently have?
     
  3. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    If you have a router that supports DD-WRT firmware you can do that if you install DD-WRT. If not, you're dependent on whether the firmware from the manufacturer supports bridging, which usually isn't the case.

    What model are your routers?
     
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,727 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    trendnet tew-633gr and d-link dir-655
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I tried to do this with linksys and it's a no. They could if they put it in their firmware.....


    Your going to need a wireless bridge I would say.
     
  6. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    sigh, just have the first router give the second router an ip, then have the second router have its own little network with the same login info, you could use WDS, i never have, altho its supported by openWRT and DD-WRT, ive had really horrid luck with it but thats prolly becuase when i was trying it on dd-wrt it wasnt working yet, was it fixed in the official .24 release?
     
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You need arouter that supports bridgeing or a wireless access point that will bridge.
     
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,727 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    ok, thanks guy. i dont think i can do it with these two routers.
     
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,310 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Unfortunately, BOTH devices need to support wireless bridging mode.

    We bought two Netgear WAG102 Access Points (also WG102, WG302) to create ONE network across two buildings on opposite sides of the road. Works very well. You can pick these things up on ebay very cheaply. There are many other "Access Points" that allow bridging. But mose routers with built in wireless cannot do this. (except openWRT?)

    http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/tutorials/article.php/1563991
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Bridge
     
  10. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I have to routers bridged together right now. Only one supports wireless bridging, however, it is running DD-WRT.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page