1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Value Creative Sound Cards Get Full Vista Drivers

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Creative has finally released full Vista-compatible drivers for some of its low-end sound cards. The new 1.04.0076 drivers are available for both 32-bit (63.39 MB) and 64-bit (63.39 MB) versions of Windows Vista, with support for Audigy Value, Audigy SE, Audigy LS, and Live! 24-bit sound cards. The new 1.04.0076 driver pack includes Creative's audio console, device control, EAX console and speaker settings control panels. Users can also adjust speaker configurations, audio output quality, S/PDIF sampling rate, sound effects, and Creative multi-speaker surround settings.

    Source: The Tech Report
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  2. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Bout time.
     
  3. Mad-Matt

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Lincoln
    you say that as if creative are under somekind of obligation to make vista drivers for these old cards ;)

    the drivers are deffinatly nice to have but by no means expected.
     
  4. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    as long as they continue to make Xp drivers ill be happy, possibly a long of companies are waiting for the service packs before the create new drivers for vista.
     
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They still sell them tho;)
     
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    well, I guess its better late than never huh?
     
  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    They are...

    They're still in stores, and a majority of their income, I'm sure..
     
  8. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    well in some respects you could say that because they still sell the cards they are obliged to have the drivers available for them to work
     
  9. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    "EAX console" <- wasn't Vista an EAX nono, as not working?

    Have Effects, Karaoke, CMSS 3D, Clean-up & Time Scaling in my EAX console. No idea if any of those use EAX or it's just named like that (would be silly).
     
  10. Mad-Matt

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Lincoln
    They do have drivers work just fine for the OS they were designed to work with in the first place.
    They would only need to support em if those sold cards now claim vista support.
    As for old cards its the user at fault for changing os just because MS says its time. no company is has to develop drivers for it although obviously better if they embrace it.

    I still see this development as good will more then a neccessity and wouldnt have expected them to bother myself. good for those that have the card of course ;)

    No one seemed to care that nvidia just said no to supporting the older chipsets(well apart from me :) which are still out there and in use and capable(just about..), but creative get slammed because they didnt have drivers ready for there older cards (audigy/live).
     
  11. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Heh... I don't use Vista so whatever but if I did, I doubt I'd use a Creative sound card again, my last Audigy 2 Platinum was a pain even with XP... :(

    Hopefully for others Creative has improved them since then.
     
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    Because sound cards aren't outdated every other week.


    :slap:

    The NFII works in Vista just fine. Theres just no need to "accelerated" drivers because the speed boost isn't worth the driver implementation.

    Sound cards just flat out do NOT work.


    theres a difference the size of the grand canyon.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,364 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,649
    *sigh* - why do thse things get better support than the more modern cards, like my audigy 4? The latest driver doesnt even support half the features of the card.... (DTS decoding, etc)
     
  14. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Because they still sell the low cost Audigy/Live cards.

    Personally, I'm sticking with onboard after this Audigy 2 dies. Creative has horrible driver support, even under XP.
     
  15. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US


    i would just be happy with an EQ!!! i dont use vista very much because of that fact! :D no EQ and THX makes my audigy 4 Pro and my Bose Freestyle speakers sound like i bought them at a gas station!!! but in XP it is just SEXY!!
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,364 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,649
    The best you get, is that if you run vistas speaker config wizard you can set it up to use "full range speakers" which gives you bass and treble sliders. Thats made it bearable, but yeah i really want those apps back :(
     
  17. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    You need to use EQ to make your Bose speakers sound good, what's that about? I use a 20 year old Marantz receiver thru a pair of small Infinity speakers and EQ is flat baby, no sound colouration here and they accurately reproduce what has been recorded in music!

    STILL no fista driver for Live 5.1 Platinum then, idiots :mad:
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,364 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,649
    I'm yet to find a pair of headphones with their own bass control, lol. Some of us LAN too.

    The entire live series has been ditched and wont support vista, the live-24 is the lowest with vista support.

    The lives were around back when i was on win98, creative shouldnt have to support something THAT old, platinum edition or not.
     
  19. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    The simple cards are a lot less complex...

    and much easier to make a driver for. :laugh:

    Especially considering its essentially the same card that they've used for years.

    Something like the X-Fi is brand new and the devs are obviously oblivious to its workings..

    Yay creative.
     
  20. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    not to sound good, but to sound the way they do in XP i would need all the shiny stuff like an eq and the THX optomiser. but now that i have found the eq thing in vista they sound a hell of alot better!! :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page