1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Velociraptor Raid 0.....Round 2!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by kwikgta, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Six Velociraptors in Raid0! Smokin!

    Attached Files:

    Jizzler says thanks.
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,443 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    921
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Holy f**k, how many raptors have you got in that array? 900+MB/s is very nice for HDD's
    kwikgta says thanks.
  3. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks! I have 6 of the new 500 gigs.
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The amount you spent, you could have gotten a Revo II drive and been faster and better performance. The access time on your drives is a meager 5.5ms. Great results though.
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,443 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    921
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    He wouldn't of got 3TB worth of storage with the revodrive though would he? or half as much of the fun of raiding 6 velociraptors :toast:
    kwikgta says thanks.
  6. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've spent $630,so cost was not a concern. I'll run the 6 Raptors until I decide to get something else, then each of my kids will get an upgrade of 2 Velociraptors each in their computers.
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Could you run Crystalmark and post the results? Interesed in 4K and 4KQ2 scores
  8. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 551.737 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 798.125 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 73.364 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 277.671 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 1.084 MB/s [ 264.6 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 20.059 MB/s [ 4897.2 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 9.656 MB/s [ 2357.5 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 20.116 MB/s [ 4911.1 IOPS]

    Test : 1000 MB [C: 5.5% (101.9/1862.5 GB)] (x5)
    Date : 2013/02/01 19:46:24
    OS : Windows 7 Ultimate Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    QD scores are low..... you could post a screenie too to make it easier. 1 SSD still offers better all around performance..IMO
  10. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    You're missing the point. I DO NOT want an ssd right now. I bought these to be different, have a little fun, and then pass them to kids computers when I decide to upgrade.
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I was just making a comment. I saw your pupose. Hope you had fun doing it. Looks fun.
  12. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Here is As-ssd screen shot.

    Attached Files:

  13. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Did some tweaking....new best.

    Attached Files:

  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,058 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,607
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I'd be curious to see what kind of speeds you would get with a RAID 10. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Never used it....what would it gain me?
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Redundancy, 3 drives in RAID0 being mirrored (RAID1) to the other 3 drives in RAID0.
    Would be a fun little exercise, but it would not be as fast as having all 6 in RAID0.
  17. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    279 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    I actually appreciate threads like this. SSD's are all that and a cup of coffee...but....I miss the sound of my raided arrays crunching away. Perhaps it's just for nostalgia sake, or I'm old fashioned...I don't know.

    I've got a couple of 80gb Raptors from HP lying around...and after looking at them on ebay, I can buy them for 20-30 bucks, I may just get motivated to playing around with a raid array myself.

    Please continue to post your experiences with your setup, I for one...enjoy reading threads along this line.

    I have an extra(well many extras)LGA 775 socket set ups lying around, I'll probably do it in one of these. What are the specs of the pc you're using?

    Best,

    Liquid Cool
    kwikgta says thanks.
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You're a good egg. :toast:
    kwikgta says thanks.
  19. kwikgta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks a lot :) I've had a blast playing with the raid set up. I'm not sure what else I could do other than maybe add one of those 512 cache raid controller cards. They are expensive and really not sure what it would gain me over my onboard raid. My system specs are in my signature.
  20. DM3K

    DM3K

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    231 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Munster, Indiana, USA
    Hmmmmm... my server has 8 10k 147gb SAS drives maybe I should see what they can do in a raid 0.
  21. Crowned Clown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    22 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please do so... :respect:
  22. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    753 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    That would be awesome, do it!!
  23. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    @OP
    now use a ramdisk, then run some tests
  24. DM3K

    DM3K

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    231 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Munster, Indiana, USA
    Disappointing results, too lazy to tweak.
    Proliant ml350 g6
    Xeon E5530
    6gb
    server 2k8 x64
    8 10k 147gb SAS in raid 0
    os drive: random 2.5 320gb drive I had lying around


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Crowned Clown says thanks.
  25. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,337 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    Oregon
    That is some serous spinning

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page