1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Very High Hard Faults After OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chyrak, May 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hey I was wondering if you guys could help me sort something out, I have Oc'ed my 2600K to 4.6Ghz by changing the multiplier to 46, Voltage is 1.43 Stable, RAM voltage is 1.6 Stable RAM speed is 1600 Mhz DDR3 8GB dual channel kit of corsair Vengeance, Timings are 1-9-9-9-24(Rest are set to auto) Motherboard is a MSI Z77A GD-55 with latest bios(1.9) ME firmware is also the latest. If anymore information is needed please let me know.

    Ok so heres the problem, After the OC i run latency mon to check my DPC latency which all checks out nice and low, Except for one thing, The Hard faults Us latency goes through the roof going right up to the red bar. Heres a screen shot.

    [​IMG]

    Looking into the details tab, I see some programs taking up to 34ms to complete an interrupt or something of the like I'm not totally sure what it all means.

    One problem this causes is that when I open something like google chrome it will hang for half a second while it opens also causing my mouse to not respond to me in that time, It also does this while i play a game, (Black ops 2) Every now and again my mouse and the screen just freezes for half a second on one frame, then carries on like normal, It also does this while playing offline on dark souls(to rule out network)

    Now i have searched around google looking for answers, I tried fiddling with the HPET, Hyper threading, Intel C-states and everything else i could find and none of them make the slightest bit of difference. I'm thinking it must have something to do with my memory or the timings.

    If you guys could cast some light on my situation it would be very much appreciated.


    Ok so i just tried something out of curiosity, Reverted all bios settings to factory defaults, Then enabled the OC Genie from MSI which automatically does the overclock settings, It clocked the cpu to 4.2 Ghz and RAM to 1600 and did the timings itself. I still have the hardfaults problem..BUT MY system booted twice as fast and I can tell just by opening programs it is much much faster than it was with my manual oc of 4.6Ghz!, Very strange :S
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  2. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,067 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I think this is related to your memory or HDD. Try setting the timing of the RAM to 9-9-9-27 or use the memory profile on the RAM for 1600 MHz. You will also want to disable or turn off other background programs that you may be running and see if it improves the pagefault.

    While I am not sure if this will help, I am fairly sure it is not your CPU or the overclock on it.

    I guess this is more of what you are looking to have a response:
    [​IMG]
  3. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply, I tried changing the timings to 9-9-9-27, This didn't have any effect, so i changed it back then choose the X.M.P profle for the ram Which set it to 1600 and 2-9-9-9-24, This caused windows to blue screen on boot everytime with a memory page pool error or something it was hard to read it as it disapeared so quickly, So i reverted back to the defaults, If i set the ram to 1333 and auto timings, the page faults seem to go away, the bar only goes up halfway, But i don't really want to run the ram at 1333 as it's specs say its 1600. :( i'll keep trying and see if theres something else causing it, maybe if i set to 1600 and try and loosen the timings a bit more. I'll post results if i have success.
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I find XMP isn't as stable when running an OC on my CPU so I normally set the basic timings manually which improves the stability
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,067 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I think your RAM is undervolted. When you set the XMP or bump it to 1600 MHz, I assume you are leaving the RAM voltage on auto. If you are, it is probably setting the voltage to 1.5V. Manual set this to 1.65V when the RAM is at 1600 Mhz and see if that helps.
    Chyrak says thanks.
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    This may well help too as even though mines rated at 1.55 I find bumping it to 1.6 gives me more long term stability (ie: no BSOD running weeks/months)
    Chyrak says thanks.
  7. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ok so after much messing around I finally managed to get the hard faults down halfway, with the ram still at 1600, I set the x.m.p profile to ON and upped the voltage to 1.65 then manually changed the first timing from 1T to 2T, CPU multi at 46x with 1.43 volts, it's prime stable for 1 hour(stopped prime after that) Programs seem to open noticeably faster and also don't hang like before, Neither does my mouse, My games have also stopped doing that freezing for half a second thing as well. Thanks for the help guys, Hopefully no problems will arise in the next few days that I'm using it.
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think you're chasing the wrong thing. If you read under the "Stats" tab in LatencyMon, the section under "Reported Hard Pagefaults" says:

    Are you running out of physical memory?
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,067 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Considering what I suggested worked, no he was not running out of his 16 GB of memory. Like what would happened when a pagefault occurred was the page was read into memory, but errored during the process. Then the CPU rechecked the memory block to find incorrect data setting off another pagefault.

    Since the voltage bump fixed your problems, you can close this thread now.
  10. Chyrak

    Chyrak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks again for all the help,Everything is running great still, Quick question... how do i close this thread ? :/
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You Don't. You Just Let It Die.
  12. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,067 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Click on thread tools to the top right of your initial post. THere should be an option to close it since you started it. It will still be on TPU, but no one can comment anymore.
    HammerON says thanks.
  13. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Or ask a mod that moderates this section or a senior mod to close the thread.
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page