1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Very High Idle Temps on E4400?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ThingFish, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. ThingFish New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I'm currently building a low end system for a friend using a Gigabyte GA-965GM-S2 mobo and a E4400. Using Tat and Coretemp v95 I'm seeing idle temps of between 42-47c on intel stock cooler. Using TAT or Orthos with load I see temps jump to 70-74. This is way higher than my E6600 overclocked to 3.0Ghz. Tried fans on auto and on full, almost no difference. Do I have a bad CPU or a bad mobo?
     
  2. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,872 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    What hsf are you using? Is it the stock one? Maybe it's not seated properly, you should not get that very high temps. Try to re seat heatsink. I once had the same problem as you, but I'm running a hotter cpu.. The preshot core :D
     
  3. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Could be a number of things:
    - Bad case airflow
    - Bad contact between CPU and HSF
    - Too much or too little thermal grease
    - Bad temperature diode in the CPU
    - Motherboard incorrectly reporting temperatures
    - CPU overvolted (this might be because of a bad motherboard PWM)

    Can't think of any more for the moment.
    for case airflow, how much are temperatures affected by having case open, and case closed?
    Re-apply thermal paste (try some better thermal paste too, if you have any), and then make sure the heatsink is firmly in place.
    Lower voltages slightly in the BIOs, see how temperature affects it. Also, get some software to measure voltages. Might not be very accurate, but worth a try to see how much voltage fluctuates by.
    Try a BIOS flash if there's a newer BIOS, that may help if the motherboard is reporting tempertures incorrectly.
     
  4. ThingFish New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I'm using the stock intel HSF.
    I've reseated the HSF and removed the original heat compound and added artic silver.
    The case is open right now but I have (2) 120's one on the front one on the rear.
    I've tried the two latest BIOS F6 and F7
    BIOS is limited, this was not intended to OC, there are no CPU volt options.
    Speed fan and the Gigabyte software show a 10-15 degree lower difference.
     
  5. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,872 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Hmm Intels stock heatsink tool less design is a pain, I can get loose at some point, try to get an aftermarket cooler If you want to gain more temp drops, or read the other thread here that stated lessening vcore to drop temps. But I think its more for the advance users :D

    My idle temps are 38-45°c
    gaming/load temps 50-62°c

    On stock intel hsf and with a room temp of 35°c lol so hot in here :(
     
  6. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Tried pressing Ctrl + F1? Gigabyte sometimes hides features. Not sure about that board, but could be hiding things from you.

    I get the same on my board with EasyTune, it shows me the lowest temperatures, but I'm more worried about the temps shown by CoreTemp (sometimes up to 65*c on Core 1...). Still haven't figured it out. I used to get lower temperatures in a different case though, even with side panel on. I bought an OCZ Vindicator mostly because of that (got higher temps, lol).
    Those steps were basically the ones I took, but I haven't been able to figure it out yet. If I think of something new, I'll post it up.

    P.S. Sorry for the crappy back story, heh.
     
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I get this problem with my AMD X2 4600 @ 2.41GHz, sometimes my CPU hits 82C.
     
  8. ThingFish New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Even when I activate the Ctrl+F1 BIOS features there are no voltage settings, it's a very basic mobo with built on video. Never had this happen with any other C2D system I've built. I'm reluctant to swap the E4400 with my E6600 and see what temps I get.
     
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    My E44 @ stock with a Freezer 64 Pro idles around 33c. I had the same temp issues with the stock intel cooler, its just crap. The fan on the stock cooler moves very little air. That said even with very high temps my CPU seemed fine, I was just uncomfortable with 70c+ temps.
     
  10. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Swap them around I say. See if the E4400 reads lower temperatures on your mobo, and if your E6600 reads higher temperatures on his motherboard. If that's the case (I also recommend swapping coolers, just to see if the cooler is the culprit), then it could just simply be the motherboard reporting higher temperatures. In which case, I'd not worry so much about it.
     
  11. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    42C doesn't seem too bad... my E6400 @ stock speeds and .95 vcore idles at 41C :|
    Just wondering, but do you have the Speedstep enabled?
     
  12. ThingFish New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Abient temp is aroun 21-23c. I've already removed the original heat paste and applied artic silver and resetted with two different stock coolers (I have one from my e6600). I also took out my e6600 and popped in the e4400 in my case it idles at 41c and load is 69c. Using TAT and CoreTemp, SpeedFan still shows 10c lower

    Then I put the stock cooler on my e6600 and ran it at stock speed, it idles at 30c and load is 54c. Using TAT and CoreTemp, SpeedFan shows the same?

    Do you think the e4400 is defective or just not reporting correctly? I figure with less cache and lower speed then the e6600 it would run cooler than the e4400. The heatsink get's hot but I can touch it and it's about the same as the northbridge in my rig.
     
  13. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,267 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,245
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would say RMA the E4400, get a new one, sell it, and just use the E6600, and with the money acquired from the E4400 buy a good cooler, like a Thermaltake Big Typhoon.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page