1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Very Low Budget Upgrade Need Help !!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by nta3392, Jun 21, 2008.

?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ vs Intel Pentium E2180

Poll closed Jul 22, 2008.
  1. AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane 2.5GHz

    8 vote(s)
    29.6%
  2. Intel Pentium E2180 Allendale 2.0GHz

    19 vote(s)
    70.4%
  1. nta3392 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello! I need help deciding...

    I have and Hp Compaq and would like to upgrade... currently it's running fine on a 3400+ 2.4 Athlon 64 processor and K8S-LA (Salmon) motherboard which currently supports only AGP.

    I wanted to upgrade CPU, Motherboard, and video Card

    Here' is waht i have

    Motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138111 (52$)

    Processor - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103212 (60$)

    and Video Card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814134035 (152$)

    Memory - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227139 ($50) ($25MIR)

    Or

    Motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138125 (50$)

    Processor - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116052 (70$)

    same video card and memory

    Which way should i go Intel or AMD ? seems that Amd will give more for my money. I've never overclocked but i'm willing to. will i be able to overclock on these motherboard? I have PC-3200 memory will they run on these motherboard? i heard that CPU can bottleneck my video card, will i be fine with those processor and the video card(i'm plannig to run games like Age of Empires3, Starcraft 2 , COD4 and maybe gta4 if they mkae it for pc)? I wont upgrade computer for another 2 to 3 years.

    what about ebay? i can get those prices cutted down significantly on claimed new products. Should i go wiht ebay?

    I'll thank any help and suggestion(i'm new btw)
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  2. Snipermonkey2

    Snipermonkey2

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    572 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    The Batcave
    save money by using the same cpu you have and buy the am2 mobo video card then buy like 2gb of ram.
     
  3. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
  4. lepra24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Romenia
    amd +1
     
  5. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Like Sniper said but go with a AM2+ mobo so you can use a quad in the future and the other benefits of the AM2+ mobos.
    (your CPU will work fine on a AM2+ mobo)

    For memory you will need DDR2, no prob as its much less $$ than your DDR1.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146565

    Your video card is an excellent choice, also take a look at the ATI 4850 thats out (I saw them as low as $150) But make sure you have a PS thats able to run them.
    (a Corsair 450 would work)
     
  6. Snipermonkey2

    Snipermonkey2

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    572 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    The Batcave
  7. nta3392 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So? is my CPU (754 pin) Compatible wiht AM2?


    better than the E2180? I dont know if like Celerons
     
  8. Snipermonkey2

    Snipermonkey2

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    572 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    The Batcave
    ah its a 754 bummer i thought it was a am2
     
  9. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Both can be upgraded to use quads later on, so don't worry about that. The e2180 is just as fast as the AMD, and when it's overclocked it's even faster. The Celeron e1200 is a last resort IMO. It's pretty worthless unless if you are going to keep it overclocked 24/7.
     
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    who doesnt oc 24/7 normally if someone has an oc on their cpu its 24/7 and maybe another/higher one for benchies, even the e1200 oc pretty damn good, hitting 3ghz a lot of times and that would still smoke the x2 at 3ghz as its core 2 architecture with lower cache 2x512k iirc

    if you have a 754 mobo and are upgrading the mobo regardless go with the e2180
     
  11. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    My mistake also, I misread the OP 754 is not able to be AM2.

    Your decision on AMD/Intel should be made by if you OC or not. If you really want to OC that go Intel (higher OC), if you may or are unsure go with AMD(better valve at stock).

    I would Pass on Celeron and Sempron no matter what

    PS: does your case have room for a full size mobo or do you have to go with mATX?
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  12. nta3392 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Will my Antec SmartPower 2.0 400 WAtt ATX12V v2.0 do? ;.I"ll look for that 150$ 4850!



    So will there not be any bottlenecking between cpu and the video card?
    thanx for the memory imputs i'll buy the one of 18$

    I dont know if should but i'm willing to. I want it to run for atleast 2.5 years, and i dont know if those cheap mobos will allow me?.
     
  13. Snipermonkey2

    Snipermonkey2

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    572 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    The Batcave
    Yeah man no problem I run OCZ and love the stuff. :toast:
     
    nta3392 says thanks.
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    nta3392 says thanks.
  15. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Dunno if this is out of your budget, but I hope this configuration helps:

    EVGA 8600GT Video Card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130290

    MSI P45 Motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130181

    G. Skill 2x1GB DDR2 800 RAM http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231098

    Intel Pentium Dual Core E2220 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116070

    Adds up to $334.96

    Or if you need more Graphics Power:

    PowerColor Radeon HD 4850 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131111 and it's $199.99
     
  16. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    if you choose allendale you should go with the E2180, they overclock very well (M0) supposably the E2200+ comes with the new heatsink that is different than the previous allendales it could be the 45nm one. anyways here is a really good deal on memory. :)

    - Christine
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  17. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    E2xxx for sure ,i run a E2160 @2.5ghz (board limits it) and tbh it wipes the floor with my old amd x2 4200+ ,im sure that cpu oc to 3ghz would make any AMD u can afford look a bit poor.
     
  18. nta3392 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    :banghead: I missed it! I just couldnt buy it yesterday.
    hmmm.. idont know if i should sacrifice video card for a good motherboard? wouldnt the other way around be better?
    I still dont know if those motherboard will overclock fine?
     
  19. flyin15sec

    flyin15sec

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    105 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    On Super tight Budget? Super suggestion

    Since you're on a super tight budget, This is what I just bought last week.

    EVGA 650i Ultra $49: http://www.evga.com/products/bstock.asp it came out to be about $55 /w shipping

    Then I ordered a E2180 from Newegg for $69, but you can find it cheaper at Microcenter for $59: http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0287623

    As you can see, I got to 3Ghz easy. It is on fairly low voltage 1.28v in BIOS and 1.26v in Windows. Temps didn't get over 49C in Coretemp. Not bad for $109 and I'm sure it can do fairly good gaming with 16X PCIe, with a new HD4850 or 9800GTX. I haven't decided yet, but I will definitely get one of those choices.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
    MKmods says thanks.
  20. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    thanks flyin for the good link.
     
  21. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I wouldn't say smoke the X2. I have seen benches that JR and POS have ran.JR has a E1200 POS have a 5000+BE the BE is behind the E1200 but it doesn't get ass raped by it just gets finger f***ed
     
  22. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    The 2180 is a great chip. I clocked one past 3.4 ghz to see how fast it would go. By comparison an e6300 crapped out just past 3 ghz on the same board. Rly good value for money
     
  23. nta3392 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've been having problem,:mad: so i still Havent bought anything but i'm doing that either tonight or tomorrow definetly. Thanks everyone for their inputs
    One Thing, that motherboard you suggested, will it come with the i/o plate, it will definely be my first choice if it does, cause I found out recently that i need a new i/o plate for my upgrade. with that in mind i also changed my original plans

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138125 (50$) new Biostar Intel Motherboard

    Can anyone tell me if this is will overclock that e2180 just fine to around/atleast 2.5 GHZ
     
  24. flyin15sec

    flyin15sec

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    105 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    No. You won't get anything. Just the motherboard, since it is EVGA's B-stock.

    I'm not too familiar with older Intel chipsets, but if you want a Biostar board and 31 Chipset, go for the P31 instead. It's near the same price.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138116

    Gseries chipset have intergrated graphics, and probably wont' have alot of OC features in their BIOS.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  25. nta3392 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah i've been looking motherboards with onboard graphics. is this bad in any way?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page