1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Very low PCmark05 score..... WHY???

Discussion in 'General Software' started by DrunkenMafia, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    ok so I did a pc mark benchy today and this is my score:


    Main Test Results

    System Test Suite 2669 PCMarks

    CPU Test Suite N/A

    Memory Test Suite N/A

    Graphics Test Suite N/A

    HDD Test Suite N/A



    Detailed Test Results


    System Test Suite
    HDD - XP Startup 8.63 MB/s

    Physics and 3D 226.48 FPS

    Transparent Windows 838.22 Windows/s

    3D - Pixel Shader 138.46 FPS

    Web Page Rendering 3.44 Pages/s

    File Decryption 51.77 MB/s

    Graphics Memory - 64 Lines 1623.14 FPS

    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Audio Compression 2617.36 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Video Encoding 463.55 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Text Edit 166.6 Pages/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Image Decompression 33.7 MPixels/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Compression 6.17 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Encryption 30.58 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 0.09 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / Memory Latency - Random 16 MB 15.63 MAccesses/s



    Now with my old opty 148 and ide hard drive I got around 4 grand.... whats up with this?? I didn't take a screeny to compare to, so I can't see where the main problem is... don't know all that much about this app anyways... :eek:

    If anything sticks out let me know....

    I have noticed that winblows takes ages to load these days too, around 3 minutes with CCC and MSN etc...
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Did you shut down all your unnecessary services? Especially anti-vir.
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    nah man.. will try that, I had anti virus going with my opty 148 though.. will post back in a minute
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Ok this is with everything off... Even worse...


    System Test Suite 1529 PCMarks

    CPU Test Suite N/A

    Memory Test Suite N/A

    Graphics Test Suite N/A

    HDD Test Suite N/A



    Detailed Test Results


    System Test Suite
    HDD - XP Startup 0.0 MB/s

    Physics and 3D 224.99 FPS

    Transparent Windows 851.94 Windows/s

    3D - Pixel Shader 138.82 FPS

    Web Page Rendering 3.51 Pages/s

    File Decryption 51.77 MB/s

    Graphics Memory - 64 Lines 1623.32 FPS

    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Audio Compression 2637.95 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Video Encoding 465.03 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Text Edit 166.14 Pages/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Image Decompression 34.03 MPixels/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Compression 6.16 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Encryption 30.48 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 0.05 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / Memory Latency - Random 16 MB 15.61 MAccesses


    That truely blows, the system seems to be running ok though, i still get good benchies with everest etc
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    It looks as though it failed some tests. Maybe you should look thru your event log to see if any services or drivers are throwing errors.
  6. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This SEEMS to be a fairly common problem......and I have it as well. I've yet to find ANY solutions.

    Doesn't anybody know what causes these poor HDD scores in FutureMark?

    Thanks,
    Larry
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol. with that rig in ur specs?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    There's your problem, maybe try bootvis?
  9. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The ONLY scores I'm significantly "off" from the #1 system with specs like mine are the 3 HDD scores

    http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultanalyzer.jsp?projectType=13&XLID=0&UID=12395873

    MY Scores
    HDD - XP Startup 0.03 MB/s
    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s
    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 0.02 MB/s

    #1 System Scores
    HDD - XP Startup 10.42 MB/s
    HDD - General Usage 7.08 MB/s
    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 46.19 MB/s

    Everything else is within a few reason. This is my first SATA HD.........is there some obvious BIOS setting or something similar I have goofed on? My HDTach scores "seem" ok: SEQUENTIAL READ = 80MB/s down to 40 MB/s BURST SPEED - 130 MB/s

    Again............any ideas.....ANY HELP would be greatly appreciated!!

    Thanks,
    Larry

    Just recheck BIOS setting........set everything to Optimized Defaults just to be sure. Ran EndItAll to kill all background programs and then re-ran PCMark..........same results! I'm stumped!!!
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2007
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    What are your system specs? You can go to your User CP for this site, and fill them in. We can help a little better if we know exactly what we're dealing with. :toast:
  11. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Specs posted..........I really don't understand WHAT could cause this. I'd have to guess it's a setting I'm missing. My HD is an SATA installed on channel 2.

    One odd thing I NEVER NOTICED until this cropped up.........a USB "Safely Remove Hardware" icon shows up in the system tray at all times and the HD is listed there when I click on it. Again....and I remind you this is my first experience with a SATA drive........is that a 'normal' situation? :confused:

    Thanks,
    Larry
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    IIRC, SATA hdd's are hotswappable.
  13. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    One down.....TWO to go

    I reran WITHOUT using EndItAll to shutdown all the background BS -- I thought maybe it was shutting down something important to do with the HDD scoring. :confused: Sadly, not.....well, not quite.........

    However, on this run I got a very good HDD - XP Startup score of 10.08 MB/s and a final score of 1795.....so I'm gaining.

    Still............THESE scores blow!

    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s
    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 0.03 MB/s


    http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultanalyzer.jsp?projectType=13&XLID=0&UID=12427214
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Did you pull the jumper off of the back of the hard drive?
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    sata1 drives arent, sata II drives are. a little offtopic, but i thought i'd pitch in.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh ok, you know why would he be getting that "Safely remove hardware" wizard? ... Just curious ..... :confused:
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    His mobo is SATA II. My DFI NF4 board does it as well.
  19. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ummmmmmm .........jumper? What Jumper :banghead:
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    sata II hotswap, so you can disable the drive to remove it with the system on.
  21. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok.......removed the jumper.

    Results are somewhat better, but still not anywhere near "On Par" with the similar systems. In fact it's the one step forward with this score getting in line

    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 65.06 MB/s

    and this one falling back to near zero

    HDD - XP Startup 0.03 MB/s

    The third score remains unchanged at

    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s

    http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultanalyzer.jsp?projectType=13&XLID=0&UID=12491241

    The overall score is my best yet at 1987, however that's still Less Than HALF of the top 6 scores for systems 'like' mine
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Do you have your hard drive set to RAID mode in the BIOS?
  23. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    My pc stopped running 05 it reboots during cpu test and it will do that at stock speeds I have reinstalled it also it did this before untill I reformated the hdd ran it a couple of times and bam its back!! ponder that :laugh:
  24. DownTownLB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    RAID = "Disabled"

    All the settings on the IDE page of the BIOS is either "Enabled" or "Auto"

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page