1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vga ( from monitor) to HDMI ( on gpu)?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Justhavocman, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    Ok i have recently bought a monitor , it was a real steal , i think around 50 euros for a 22" LG HD monitor so i couldn't resist , the thing is all the VGA TO Dvi-D DL connectors cost another 50 euros I found a VGA to HDMI cable for like 5 euros so i can just plug it into my GPU's HDMI port , by the way my GPU is an Asus 670 DC2 , would that work? I've read around that improper use of HDMI might cause hardware damage
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon
    So the monitor only has a D sub (VGA) port? But yes you can use a HDMI to VGA without any damage
  3. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    Yeah pretty much , the DVI-I is occupied by the first monitor and it only leaves me with this solution :)
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon
    keep in mind, VGA had bandwith limitation depending on the quality of the cable

    What model is the monitor your talking about?
  5. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yep thats all you can do
  7. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,445 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    IA, USA
    What VulkanBros linked would work but not advised. VGA and HDMI are completely incompatible so you need to use an active converter (DAC) to perform the digital to analog conversion which introduces latency.

    Your card has two DVI ports, why not use those? The card probably came with DVI-A to VGA adapters. If it didn't, adapters are cheap. I would trust a 5 Euro DVI-A to VGA adapter; I would not trust a 5 euro HDMI to VGA converter.


    Seriously? A 1080p screen with no DVI/HDMI/DisplayPort inputs? What was LG smoking?
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    As previously explained i need a DVI-D to VGA adapter , the DVI-I is occupied by my current monitor and my GPU only came with the PCI to 6pin connector :S
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,445 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    Unfortunately they are out of stock , just returned their call ! Would a VGA splitter do any good? Like this one? http://www.mcweb.gr/43-Δικτυακά/171...-PORT-140-3157.html?Itemid=0&ref=bestprice.gr
  12. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,358
    Well, shipping an adapter of the kind Ford mentioned to you in Greece would cost you 20 euro so that is not really making it worthwile for you. Else I had shipped one to you. Check Greek price watches for a DVI-A to VGA (sometimes called D-sub) adapter, no need to use a DAC.

    If yo still want to use my "service", simply send me a PM.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
    so instead of going over all the hassle of adapters , converters etc etc i decided to go for a TV-Monitor with HDMI ( which pretty much solves all of my problems plus i finally get to have a TV on my pc room )

    I found this to be the best candidate sub 200 euros
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,445 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    IA, USA
    That works. It's really silly that LG is selling LCD screens without DVI/HDMI in.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Justhavocman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greece
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,358
    I use a D-sub monitor as well. It is like 6 years old though. BTW, checking what connectors are there before you buy is perchance a good idea.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page