1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VIA Pico-ITX about as small as a deck of playing cards

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Most of you know that AMD is trying to save power and space by releasing the Micro-ITX platform. VIA has decided that they want in on this market, and so they went and made their own little thing. And when I say little, I mean little. Measuring in at barely 100mm x 72mm (full ATX is 1200mm x 960mm), VIA's new motherboard comes with onboard network, processor, graphics, and is completely fanless. Just like AMD, VIA is trying to make a platform that not only is extremely tiny, but power-efficient. Have a look.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Nordic Hardware
     
  2. n-sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mmm.... 7.1 eax / d-live mp3 players... i like :D
     
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    ummm WOW. what happened to laptops being small? you're talking about a "ultra-portable laptop" in a PDA motherboard size, that's craziness. I really do think that this'll be something that ends up in PDA's though, or maybe at school/work they'll have docking stations and you just drop in your pico-itx and start working.
     
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Holy shit...i thought that nano-itx (4in x 4in) was small...
     
  5. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    This can give us an opportunity to push major performance into a small space, imagine a PDA w/ EAX 7.1 and a processor that can power a desktop computer w/ XP installed.

    I hope this takes off well.
     
  6. n-sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thats funny... what with us russians and 7.1 eax ?
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    OMG, sound like that and a processor. Talk about a killer HTPC...I love it.
     
  8. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    no where near a HTPC...more for a car-puter or something.
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's insane. I want one. lol. Imagine taking an old ATX mid tower, modding it, and then throwing like 8 of these in there for a server farm. lol.
     
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Casemodders wet their pants :) You can build like a computer inside a CD-drive, plenty room left for a laptop hdd. Or slap it on the backside of an LCD, hook it up to the VGA in and you can still use your desktop PC for DVI. 2 computers in one with just press of a button (to change input signal). Now where is that lottery win, so I can try those out xD
     
  11. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    wouldnt the internals of say a Pda be even smaller with practically the same specs?
     
  12. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
  13. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That is incredibly small!! :)

    But, where does the memory go? And how do you plug in a mouse and keyboard? Obviously, I have never used one of these. But, the possibilities are endless. Go spend $10 on a set of Legos, and build your own case. :laugh:
     
  14. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    can anyone say "home file server"?


    chris
     
  15. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    memory probably under the board. and there are cables that you plug into the headers to get keyboard and all...

    btw...the cpu aint the big chip in the middle, its the smaller chip on the left...
     
  16. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    lol, the chipset is bigger then the cpu... i think thats a first...

    anyon know what the fab proc on that proc is?


    chris
     
  17. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    it has a VIA c7 @ 1ghz...

    L1 & L2 both have 128kb cache
    the FSB is 400mhz.
    TDP max is around 3.5...
    90nm...
     
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Not bad since you are not gona game on that anyways:p
     
  19. WeStSiDePLaYa

    WeStSiDePLaYa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    why are people even mentioning EAX? its only usefull for gaming. and this wouldnt be any good for games. so yay for pointlessness?
     
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Mant they should at least have a pcie port made into a SATA-like connector, with one end being small and the other being the standard PCI-E port... then you can have an external GPU. But holy shit thats tiny...
     
  21. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    realtek ac97 has eax 2.0 for who knows how long now (before skt A!)...i doubt they gonna make a special audio chip just for this.
     
  22. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Introducing the Pico ITX!
    Now with DX10 Graphics! :roll:
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Only you Reven. :roll: :toast:
     
  24. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    only me what :p? :laugh:
     
  25. WeStSiDePLaYa

    WeStSiDePLaYa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    And that relates to my post stating that EAX is uselss for anything besides gaming how?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page