1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VID Higher than Core?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SK-1, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Just fooling around with my e8600 and wanted to see how low I could run stable @4Ghz.
    I always thought the Core was suppose to run higher than VID.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :confused:

    i can run mine just below vid at 4GHz
     
  3. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    VID is approximated I think.

    Lucky ducky.:p
     
  4. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    [​IMG]


    I just wish I could OC with this board...if only the damn BIOS didn't corrupt each time and give me an "88" error code....RMA time once I get round to it lol :banghead:



    Edit: Resized image from 1920x1080 to 1280x720
     
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    VID is basically the default voltage, most likely vdroop has brought it lower in your case (cpu-z will report lower voltage than set in the bios), run superpi on it and likely that voltage will drop some more. Of course EIST and C1E can drop voltage as well, but it doesn't look like you have those going. In short, you can always undervolt if you want, it's especially nice when you gain some clockage as well.

    par exampla:

    This is a result of vdroop, EIST, and C1E. Almost 200mv below stock and 600mhz oc.

    [​IMG]
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  6. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    E6750 set to 3.4GHz for purpose of SS (425x8) and 1.32v in the BIOS and running Prime95 and Real Temp 2.60.
    [​IMG]

    As you can see, not much droop at all...very stable in my view. :toast:



    Time to RMA this damn DFI and get clocking this E8400 when it comes back!!! :rockout:


    Edit: Pink background and XP layout is for my fiance, it isn't mine before you ask or wonder lol ( it looks like Vista but it isn't, before you say that too :) )
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page