1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video Card Fan speed

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Morrison5891, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    GPU-Z Fan RPM senor is telling me that its only spinning at 1RPM ... most likely a faulty reading?
     
  2. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    1rpm is pretty much the equivalent to not spinning at all. Try rivatuner and see what that says.
     
  3. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    stick your finger lighty on the graphic card fan to see if its spinning, thats what i do if i wanna know
     
  4. richardbel

    richardbel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    vancouver
    just not push too hard.. just let the blade hit the skin of your finger..
     
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    What they said^, or you can just look at the cards fan spinning, it shouldn't be hard to tell whether its running at 1PPM or more.
     
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    It might be because the cooler is not reference it does not support speed monitoring.

    Are you using the latest version of GPU-Z and have the latest drivers for your video card installed?
     
  7. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Checked the fan on the card and its for sure moving faster then that. I do have the lestest version of GPU-Z and also the latest version of my video card drivers. I am a little converned only becase this card would idle at 29c and now it idles around 35c
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,667 (6.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,178
    Im with Alex on this.

    Most likely the card is just deficient of a monitoring chip or it just isnt connected on your specific card.
     
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    How many wires are there going from the cooler into the card?
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,761
    neither of my 4870's RPM is read in GPU-Z either. i only get 1RPM.

    as far as i can tell, GPU-Z isnt reading 4 series ATI cards right.
     
  11. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Figured out that its only 2-wire ...
     
  12. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Yeah, my zalman VF900s on my 4850x2 don't do monitoring. GPU-Z always says 1RPM.
     
  13. tinian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My Accelero Twin Turbo on my 9800GTX+ shows --RPM in GPU-Z but it shows the % correctly and am able to use Rivatuner to change speeds at temperature changes. I had to splice wires to connect it to my video card.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page