1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video card or RAM need upgrading?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by itsmeitsme, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I havent even talked yet so wtf? :p

    ASUS P5K - $143 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_...ode=PD00004864
    2GB Generic DDR2 RAM - $60 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_...ode=PD00004408
    e2180 - $105 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_...ode=PD00005050
    X1950 PRO 256mb w/ AC - $190 (posted) - http://www.mtechcomputers.com.au/pro...208b76cb2ad969
    160GB SATA Drive - $66 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_...ode=PD00003493
    SATA DVD drive - ~$55
    Case and PSU - Personal preference, id say around $150.

    Mmm your build is okay, I would change the RAM to samsung DDR1066 2GB :p, as well as the mobo, to a Gigabyte GA P35 DS3 or DS4. For the case, choose the Centurion 5 (CAC-T05) that comes with the PSU.

    I knew you lived in australia, seeing how you say its hot.

    As pinchy said, even a system around $600~$800 could run all those games at max settings. They are nowhere near "high graphics" LOL
     
  2. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i only have 1 fan. Temperatures i get are about 30 coming from the CPU.
     
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Get a IDE dvd drive for $36 from Itestate.
     
  4. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow, tkpenalty, that looks attractive to me. However, the links don't work. :(
    That should be about what i need, please provide sources. Any better suggestions?
    Thanks, all appreciated.
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,738 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,955
    his links have been abbreviated, i dont think that was his fault.

    ITestate are reliable on the orders, but they never reply to email enquiries - the only way to contact them is to call them.
     
  6. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    o, i didn't see that. THanks.
     
  7. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm...call them only :( . I thought there would be a store somewhere.
     
  8. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    damn, $12 per box. THat's alot of money, if you have like 6 parts or so, that is $72 for delivery alone. :(
     
  9. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Email them twice and you get answered. If not, keep mailing them.

    There is a store. The phone is just for customer support.
     
  10. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Probably they will be packing things together. So if like you get 6 parts they can pack them into two larger boxes. Paying $12 for every purchased part isn't worth it if you can get them from somewhere else. But you should ask if they reduce the boxes and combine the items in lesser boxes.
     
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Check the original post (the one I made) and the links should work. TK's arent working because its in a quote.

    There is a store which you can pick the items up from. Its in North Rocks, 5 mins from Parramatta.

    EDIT - Here you go:

    ASUS P5K - $143 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_detail.asp?code=PD00004864
    2GB Generic DDR2 RAM - $60 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_detail.asp?code=PD00004408
    e2180 - $105 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_detail.asp?code=PD00005050
    X1950 PRO 256mb w/ AC - $190 (posted) - http://www.mtechcomputers.com.au/pr...d=368&osCsid=995a6082317fb167ab208b76cb2ad969
    160GB SATA Drive - $66 - http://www.itestate.com.au/products_detail.asp?code=PD00003493
    SATA DVD drive - ~$55
    Case and PSU - Personal preference, id say around $150.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2007
  12. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    There are some cases from APEVIA which we mentioned before they're cheap and have space for a good airflow. Leaves you with extra cash after you buy the PSU too. And some of the cases I believe have the intake and extractor fans included.
     
  13. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my current computer: i've recently removed the cases from the sides and i have been benefitting from improved performance. I can run the games, and it gives me a BSOD less often. The fan seems to be working fine now, the air that is exerted is cooler. :D
    I think perhaps, i should upgrade the video card because the time when i get the BSOD, the file that is stated is related to the Video Card. I currently have a Nvidia one with 64Mb, any suggestions for a cheap and good one, that i can purchase from a local store in Australia?
    Thanks.
     
  14. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    I'm sure Pinchy could help you with that. So now you have to base on a new video card and some more cooling if you want to be using the same system. Also keep in mind you have to remove the fans and heatsinks in the case and clean them from dust that might gather. Dust keeps the heat longer in the area so avoid it.
     
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  16. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    o damn, i've never removed the fans out before and cleaned them. How do i? I better take a look.
     
  17. itsmeitsme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    btw, my computer generates loud noise, is there way of resolving this? What could be the problem?
     
  18. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    My psu used to make a loud noise..turned out a screw got loose on the back...could be the issue...also removing a fan depends on the fan you've got...intel fans in most cases have clips...my other socket 478 fans, a foxconn and a coolermaster both cpu used screws.
     
  19. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,509 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well come on now raven, you need to give me a little credit here.

    the recommendation was to use the e6600 over the q6600, they were comparing high end c2d to the quad and not talking about mid level afordable c2d cpus.

    your point is correct but the comparing of prices i was refering to was with the e6600 and e6700 that were being recommended instead of the q6600.

    i ask you to go look at a complete setup using a e6600, then do the same for a q6600 and you wont believe how close they are in price.

    you will find everything (except maybe the mb) that you want to use for the e6600 will work for the q6600 so its just the cpu price.

    when you say

    "And to get the quad up to a decent speed youd need to get a decent board to overclock it with anyway, which costs more money. Quad core is by no means a cheap venture"

    i have to disagree, the Gigabyte P35 DS3L will overclock the q6600 nicely and it only costs $90

    now i dont know what you consider decent speeds but the reviews claim it is a great oc board but it doesnt have "RAID" so you need to get the Gigabyte P35 DS3R if you want RAID
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page