1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video Converter Software(MKV to AVI)

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by twicksisted, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I have all of my Blu-rays archived as MKV files on a NAS drive.
    I recently bought a Sony BDP-S480 networked Blu-ray player and it cant stream/play these MKV files :/

    http://www.sony.co.uk/product/blu-ray-disc-player/bdp-s480

    According to the Sony website it can play only the following filetypes:
    XviD / WMV9 / MPEG-1 / MPEG-2 / MPEG-4 AVC


    So my questions are:

    Which of these above formats would be best quality to use?
    What software can I use to convert them (preferably free and one that can use CUDA would be great).

    I searched google for software and theres so many to choose from I thought id ask opinions to save the hassle of getting a crappy one ;) :)
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,140 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    handbrake,gotsent
    twicksisted says thanks.
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    what Athlon said for Handbrake

    the best quality format would be MPEG-4 AVC (or h.264 as it's also known)
    twicksisted says thanks.
  4. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    thanks for the suggestions... my i7 2600k should do well for conversion but ive heard that CUDA is better, can this handbrake program use CUDA? I have like 180 movies to convert lol
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    Cuda is supposed to be better,but from what i've seen it normally doesn't offer that much improvement from the CPU

    Handbrake is CPU only though

    If you want CUDA try looking at Freemake
    twicksisted says thanks.
  6. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    giving handbrake a try now... will test it on one file to make sure it can play on the blu-ray player first cbefore doing all 180 movies ;)

    Seems to fly on my processor, 14 minutes to make a high quality mpeg 4 of a 1:45 long movie
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    your lucky, 14 mins is about half an hour of footage on a phenom ii x4 :laugh:

    EDIT:It may appear to transcode twice, it's not making duplicates that's just how multi-pass encoding works
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    ok it finished ... the quality is pretty crappy... made a 1gb file out of a 5.5gb source file MKV.
    Im guessing i need to play with the constant bitrate (QP) setting.

    Whats a good number/setting for this to be on?
    My original MKV files are all very high quality (5gb - 12gb files straight from blu-ray)

    (FIXED)

    QP 1 seems to be no compression... im trying it out with the file again, seems like this run is 21 minutes instead of 14 so hopefully it will be better ;)
  9. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    take back the Sony and get a Samsung that can play MKV over DLNA with Serviio?
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
  10. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Hmmm wish i could! i bought it 2 weeks ago from PC World... can only take items back less than 7 days old unless they have a fault.
    I think i may put this one on my telly upstairs and get a samsung for my cinema room though... just money is a little tight round this time of year
  11. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Well does the Sony have DLNA support?
  12. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    UK
    Just try renaming the file extension from MKV to MP4 and it will probably play anyway

    and i think you will get a higher quality video using AVG Bitrate with 2 pass encoding then a constant quality
  14. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    It seems that people have had your blu ray player streaming MKV over DLNA with Serviio but its tricky. Goto these forums ( http://forum.serviio.org/viewforum.php?f=11 ) and set it up correctly with your NAS using their sony profile. You should get it working and at the most you will have to convert your MKV's to the older 4.1 format.
    twicksisted says thanks.
  15. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    nice i see that you can run servio on a nas too... ill give it a bahs on pc first and see if i can get it to work before messing around with my nas config
  16. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    303 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    i use badaboom 5k-8k rate, looks good and uses cuda.
  17. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Get it working?
  18. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    not really, my bluray player diddnt like the MPEG4 file :/
    I havent tried the servio yet as i was playing a bit of Tribes Vengeance Beta, then skyrim, then BF3(and drinking a lot of beer lol)... will probably go to bed now and give it another bash tomorrow
  19. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Bah...let me know when you try Serviio.
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If your player uses DNLA for network playback, just use PS3 Media Server over your network. You won't have to convert anything that way. It will do it on the fly.

    I know it says PS3 in the title, but it works with much more than just the PS3. http://www.ps3mediaserver.org/
    twicksisted says thanks.
  21. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Alright! PS3mediaserver works a charm streaming off my PC to my bluray player... only about 10 files arent supported which isnt bad out of 180 ;)

    Servio diddnt work for me, i could see it on the bluray player but all of the files were unsupported, perhaps theres a setting I need to enable.

    Wile E, can I install Ps3mediaserver on a NAS drive?
  22. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,403 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    if your nas is x86 then yes.
  23. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page