1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video editing applications work really slow with high end PC

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Chapapa07, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I used to edit videos really fast with this new pc I builded 2 months ago:

    i7 4770 3.4 ghz (non k)
    Using Intel integrated graphics card
    8 GB Kingston HyperX Blu
    HDD: WDC Blue WD10EZEX 1 TB
    GIGABYTE GA-H81M-H LGA 1150 MATX
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

    After a month of editing, camtasia studio and adobe premiere started to work really slow, now most of the time I tried to edit a video they stop working and sometimes camtasia shows me this:

    [​IMG]



    I formatted my pc but the problem persits, I even started to edit with the Go Pro video editor but after 2 weeks of using it , it works as slow as the others aforementioned programs.

    Crystal Disk Info and Acronis info about my HDD:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    I Scanned my pc : no viruses found, I defragmented my HDD (1% fragmented), windows is up to date.

    Thank you for any help you can provide [​IMG]

    Update: I ran prime95 and in 3 minutes the hottest core reached 80c which is alarming. Even though thats a problem I need to fix I still dont understand why it affects the video editting applications since those apps either dont work from the very beggining (while temps are 36c) or they work really slow, I checked the temps while editting and the hottest core reached 71c which is healthy enought for working properly.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,162 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,125
    Location:
    Oregon
    You need to list all your parts. It could be something simple. Do a test video encode of a 1 min video and time it.
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,065 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    Idle temps mean nothing, what are you load temps? Use something like Prime95 to load the CPU and check the temps.

    Also, what GPU do you have, or are you using the integrated GPU?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,162 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,125
    Location:
    Oregon
    EVA is a HP program error. check your event viewer
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,087 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,656
    Get a Dedicated vid card
     
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,380 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    Um, what about your hard drives/ssd's? Sounds like you have a TRIM issue, where writes are getting stalled as the disk isn't doing background cleanups, reformatting and reinstalling won't fix that and will cause huge slowdowns.

    However since you mentioned that your disk fragmentation is at 1% I will assume you have mechanical hard drive(s), and then the issue may be a failing drive, or a poorly optimized layout, or a failing cable, or incorrect motherboard settings. Or you may have tried to defragment a SSD compounding the issues since they don't need it.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I ran prime95 and in 3 minutes the hottest core reached 80c which is alarming. Even though thats a problem I need to fix I still dont understand why it affects the video editting applications since those apps either dont work from the very beggining (while temps are 36c) or they work really slow, I checked the temps while editting and the hottest core reached 71c which is healthy enought for working properly.

    And yes, Im using the integrated gpu.

    What is a HP error and how do I check my event viewer?

    Im using a HDD, crystal disk info and acronis drive monitor says its totally fine , check above I updated the post.
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    In the start menu search, just start typing "Event" and it should be the first thing to show up. It's inside "Administrative Tools" inside the Control Panel.
     
  9. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    So, what specific info in the event viewer do I need provide in order to clarify the problem I have ?, there is alot.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You should filter the Windows System log keeping just fatal and critical errors. This will rule out drivers or any OS-related issue.
    system-filter.JPG
    opts.JPG
    errors.JPG
     
  11. JswizzPC

    JswizzPC

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dayton Ohio
    Its the integrated graphics
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    ...and you're coming to that conclusion how again?
     
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  13. JswizzPC

    JswizzPC

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dayton Ohio
    Im no video editing guru but doesnt video editing software benifit from a discreet gpu. Also ram could play a part in it.
     
  14. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Unless the application uses CUDA or openCL the video card has nothing to do with it, the programs should work regardless.
    While 80c is hot its not too hot for that cpu make sure the fan is clean and working and the case has airflow
    I would run Intel Burn Test or OCCT and test your cpu to make sure its not overheating or defective.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  15. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    here:

    Sorry Im facing some technical difficulties

    The cpu fan is clean and the case has proper airflow

    And what is the difference between those stress test and prime95? , just in case you didnt read it the 80c result was after 3 minutes of running prime95.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  16. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,016 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    at this point ANYTHING could be playing a part in it.
     
  17. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    they are more intensive and better at finding errors than prime 95 because they use linpack
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page