1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video: HDMI cables hate me!!!

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by a_ump, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    So this is more of a general nonsense but still hardware question. I have beaten, thrown, and taken horrible care of laptop cables, ethernet, even BNC security camera cables, and never had them break or stop working.

    HDMI cables are a different story though. i've bought probably 5 cables in the last year alone. From Vizio, to LG, to even a monster cable and they all seem to short or do that "twist it this way and then plug it in" to get it to work. Granted the monster cable was my lady's fault by stepping on it, but the other 4 simple quit working.

    Are HDMI cables just super fragile? too complex to be in simple rubber housing? How about the rest of you? what's your HDMI cable experience?
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,959 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Location:
    Oregon
    Never had a bad one and Ive used many. I suspect you have a bad HDMI port that's reacting to the movement of the cable
     
  3. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    my tv has 3 hdmi ports, we've used each and everyone and it always seems to be the cable, we purchase a new one and walla no probelms.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,215 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,518
    never had one break, worst i've had is a super long cable that wouldnt work above 1680x1050
     
  5. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    damn, must be me. BAD JU JU!
     
  6. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    I've never had a bad one. I even have a cheap 10 m one that must be over 3 years old. It's been twisted, stepped on, curled up, but it still works fine.
     
  7. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,909 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    983
    maybe its the tv.

    try those damaged hdmi on another device if you havent tested
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    My experience with HDMI is limited but I'm using a generic HDMI cable to go from my PC to my TV and no problems. I've also used a cable that was HDMI on one end, DVI on the other with this TV for the longest time with no issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Hdmi is a flakey port and cable standard. If you have display port use it or component. Or dvi.
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,900 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    I have one break on me, the casing was to soft to support but no issue with any others yet haha.
     
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911

    I've been using the same cable for 3 years. Cheap generic cable which cost less than £3 on Ebay.

    a_ump, I think the physical port on your device is broken rather than the cable.
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Being a network ops tech for Att (Uverse) ive encountered several customers tvs that put a voltage out that sometimes affects the tv and the equipment and only way to fix that without them switching out tvs was put em on component which provides same clarity as hdmi.
     
  13. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    About 4-5 years ago Amazon was having HDMI cables for $0.01 + Shipping ( yes, one cent) and i bought like 20. Never had a problem with one.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Amazon do make good cables or have a good oem
     
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,635 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Never a problem here, two TV's, TV #1 in livingroom has all 3 HDMI inputs being used, TV #2 in diningroom, two HDMI cables, one one crossing part of a diningroom floor connected to the second PC.

    Goto Monoprice.com, I've gotten ALL of my cables from them.
     
  16. patrico

    patrico

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    303 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    ireland, galway
    ive never hd any probs with any hdmi cables

    dont spend good money on expensive hdmi cables they are all digital so quality is- it works or it doesnt lol the phsyical cable might be stronger but the vid/audio will be the same
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    I bought a Display port (plug to gpu) to vga (jack to monitor cable) adapter from Startech. Cables to go is good aswell

     
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Amazon is a trading platform, so its lots of independent sellers, like Ebay.

    The only difference is some select independent sellers ship their product to Amazon's distribution centre. Amazon then list and market it as their own, and then dispatch it centrally with their own branding if it sells. This is their "FBA programme".
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Thats what im wondering who their oem is
     
  20. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    It won't be a specific OEM.

    It will be a bunch of random sellers, most selling cheap generic cables from China or Hong Kong. Scattered in between will be a few well known manufacturers. Regardless of whether the seller is a 1 man business or a multinational, if they qualify for the FBA programme the cables will be sent to Amazon's distribution centre and will get Amazon's branding on the box when it's dispatched.

    Because Amazon don't source their own products, the risk for inconsistencies in quality is greater.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Yeah i started thinking about that. Thats why they tend to be the least expensive solution

     
  22. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    845 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Not always. Amazon has an OEM somewhere making these:

    [​IMG]

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003L1ZYYM/?tag=tec06d-20
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Those are it
     
  24. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    155 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    I dislike HDMI as a standard but I've never had one break through 5 years and 3 moves. Only cable I've ever had break was one ~10 year old DVI-D.
     
  25. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911

    That is an exception. Amazon do have one or two propriety items in all categories, but the business model explained above is how Amazon work. Amazon couldn't sustain its business selling just their own brands.

    Amazon Basic products are made in Taiwan and China, probably from the same factories that some of the random sellers are buying from.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page