1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Video Playback issues

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bpgt64, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    So I am using an NetTop

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856119016

    With a 4 gb stick of Patriot DDR2 - 800 and a 500GB Hitachi 2.5inch 7200RPM/16mb cache drive

    With the lastest Nvidia Drivers, and Shark007 codecc pack. And I am unable to get true 1080p or 720p content to play properly. In Window's 7 64bit, which I thought might have been the issue....but common it has 4 gigs of ram.

    Any ideas?

    PS, I posting this hear because this my HTPC, and I am wondering if Nvidia's Ion platform just isn't enough...Should I send this one back?
     
  2. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    what happens when you try to play the Blueray files?
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  3. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    ION has enough power to play 1080p videos with no problems. I think the issue lies in software.

    What happens when you try to play the videos?
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  4. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    They play, just when I get above a 576p File source, things skip...
     
  5. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Pretty sure its a chipset driver issue. There's a CoProcessor not installed in Device manager..checking Nvidia's site now..
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    uninstall shark, reboot, install CCCP's latest beta - when installing there is a tickbox near the H264 box called "MT" for multithreading - choose that codec, its a lot faster.

    thats it, should play fine. Using CCCP i had a 1.6GHz atom in a netbook playing 720p at about 55% CPU usage
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  7. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Also, what program are you using to playback the files? Maybe it's not using the hardware for decoding. I think Mussles actually knows alot about that.
     
  8. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    720p is playing 100% now...if only I could get 1080p...lol...not that it matters, don't have that many movies that are that big.
     
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,205 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    what was the issue?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    For one think, Nvidia System Management(chipset drivers) weren't recognized properly in Device manager. I did exactly what Mussels said and workin like an ace now..and on only 2GBs of memory too!! Gonna return the 4GB stick tomorow and get my 170 bucks back.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    you need a ~1.5GHz CPU (dual core or HT preferable), 512MB of ram (depends on OS, i guess) and a 32MB video card to playback 720p content. the only thing needed extra for 1080p is more CPU power - despite what some people think, video playback doesnt use jack shit of system resources, except for CPU (and very little of that should you get hardware accel working)
     
  12. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Well its a Dual Core...plus HT so 4 threads....Just can't quiet handle 1080p...But it's supposed to as apart of the Ion platform...
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    atom doesnt have a quad thread variant. thats just a dual core.

    ION requires you to get nvidia hardware acceleration working - and that only works on legitimate blu ray disks. its part of a marketing scam really, as nettops often dont have blu ray drives...


    The only way for you to get hardware acceleration of files, is to buy/install/configure MPC-HC to use CoreAVC
     
  14. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    [​IMG]

    What do you mean MPC-HC?
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    media player classic home cinema. the player that comes with CCCP.


    also it seems i was wrong... i did not know the 330 had 4 threads. That should handle 1080p with no problems.
     
  16. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Me either, till we booted up this 330 we were setting up as a pfsense box for our firewall at work using Linux mint and low and behold 4 threads.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    as for setting up coreAVC, see the DXVA thread in my sig - its mostly about DXVA, but the instructions will also show you how to setup coreAVC
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You have an ION. I'm pretty sure all you need for 1080p playback is to install CoreAVC Pro, and disable ffdshow for H.264 playback in the CCCP control panel, and enable CUDA in the CoreAVC control panel. It will give you hardware acceleration in ANY directshow capable player.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    thats what i just told him how to do :p
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Except you said he has to use MPC-HC. He doesn't. Any directshow player will do. (And I'm glad, too. I hate MPC-HC, personally)

    And I misread your post and thought you meant he would have just plain old DXVA acceleration, not full blown CUDA acceleration.
     
  21. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Added the filter, worked like a charm...I got a little choppy playback but I am also migrating in about 400gbs of media, and its bogging the system down a bit.

    This thing is nuts, its the size of a PS3 Game Case...
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    fair enough - but once he confirms it works in MPC-HC (the leanest player you can get) he can then work on the players of his choice.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page