1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vigor Gaming Thermal Electric CPU Cooler

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JdPower, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    I like it from reading about it ....Hmm I think I am going to buy it just to test out and fiddle about with it.
  3. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Let me know how it goes please! Maybe ask wizzard if you can write a review for it :D
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Hmmm I changed my mind the most important info for this would be the wattage which they dont list in the specs

    Model
    Brand VIGOR GAMING
    Series Monsoon II
    Model CLT-M2A
    Spec
    Type Fan&Heatsinks
    Fan Size 92mm
    Compatibility Socket 754 / 939 / 940 / AM2
    RPM Low: 2000 RPM
    Mid: 2400 RPM
    High: 2600 RPM
    Noise Level 24-34 dBA
    Color Transparent
    LED Blue
    Heatsink Material 4 heat pipes, Aluminum Fin & Copper Base
    Physical Spec
    Fan Dimensions 92 x 92 x 25mm
    Heatsink Dimensions 90 x 90 x 160mm
    Features
    Features Active CPU Cooling: The world's first CPU cooling system combining patented advanced software controlled Active TEC technology and heat-piped cooling module.

    Automatic Temperature Control: 5.25" Management unit with LCD Display.

    Ultra-low Thermal Resistance: Excellent thermal resistance provides extreme cooling performance.

    Worldwide Patents: Including USA, Germany, China, etc.

    Fail-safe Protection: Alarm system will alert user in the unlikely event of CPU cooler malfunctioning.
    Package Contents
    Package Contents CPU Cooling System
    Thermal Grease
    Clips
    Power Cable


    If they don't list the wattage of the pettier then it is most likely inadequate !!!
  5. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Should be good. But i find it but ugly and cheap looking.
  6. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think in one of the reviews it states how many watts the whole things pulls. I'll edit when I find it out give me a min...

    EDIT: From one of the reviews....

  7. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Voltage is...

    40mm, 12 VDC, 5A, 50W 100% loading...

    TEC is 40mm unit 24 volts Vmax, 10A Imax, 65° DTmax, and upwards of 150 watts Qmax.
  8. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Thats only a 65 watt difference ! I would never use a peltier that was rated that low of a wattage for any thing,not even a gpu(well maybe I would on a mobo chipset ) let alone a cpu .. thats only me though...Maybe they have changed the design of the peltier cooling system
  9. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The voltage might be wrong, but its not depedent on the peltier to cool, it also has the heatpipes, and fan to help exhaust and intake air. Here is the manufacturers website and if you scroll to the bottom they have 6 websites that have reviewed this product. I think I might get it here when I got the extra cash :D

    LINK:
    http://www.vigorgaming.com/components/cmp_monsoonii_intel.html
  10. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
  11. JdPower New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    308 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. lufrey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Careful using peltier cooling. My old motherboard was damaged by water condesing and dripping onto the motherboard. You'll need to use something to insulate the peltier device, so it doesn't make contact with air, and therefor no condensation.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I seriously debated getting one of these for a while, they perform quite good. But they have one flaw, imo - they are either for AMD or Intel, not both in 1 unit. If you have AMD now, but wanted to upgrade to Core2, you can't take the cooler with you. So, ultimately, I decided to start piecing together a nice water cooling setup instead, using Dangerden parts.
  14. lufrey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Yes, it's a shame these more exotic coolers don't have multiple mounting kits that the cheaper air coolers have.
  15. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Well I couldnt resist , I just purchased one of these babies to test out ...When i get it I will let ya's know how it gets along.
  16. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Just buy a TEC pad and a nice zalman heat sink, then grease up the TEC and sandwhich it between the CPU and Heat sink and wire it up to a spare v12 (i now this is still under the requirement but still works pretty good). Badda BING...TEC cooling.

    ***WARNING*** Frosting/moisture can occur...most of the pre-done TEC are sealed. Perhaps there is a way to seal the DIY TEC my placing a thin copper plate...
  17. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Here is a quick diagram of a DIY Tec cooling...

    also i recommend a heatsink that requires to be "screwed down" rather than clipped down so that you can have some space to slide the TEC.

    Attached Files:

    • TEC.GIF
      TEC.GIF
      File size:
      15.8 KB
      Views:
      208
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007
  18. lufrey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Well, if you are going to DYI, then I recommend you seal the TEC, if you can't find anything to seal it with, you can get away using petroeum jelly (vasaline). Just don't expose the TEC to air else it will frost or cause condesation, and you don't want water anywhere near your cpu or motherboard.
  19. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Yes Sir you are right about that...I will give it a good exam and look for such problems...I am not new to frost as I run a phasexchange also.Thanks for the good advise:toast:
  20. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    phase cooling dispates very quickly, therefore no frosting, but tec does not dispates as fast...
  21. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    thank you for the heads up on that KTR ,any and all feed back is welcomed....I get the cooler tomorrow so I will post back on the results.
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Phase change would be better than TEC cooling right?
  23. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Well you can pull of DIY Tec for around 60 bucks while phase will cost you 600-800...

    overall phase will cool the cpu a lot cooler, but for a cost.
  24. lufrey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    130 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    I look forward to hearing the results from you. Sorta makes me want to dig out my old Peltier device and try experimenting with it again ;)
  25. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I have done that already for a skt A 3200+ for a friend about 3-4 years ago...i got his cpu around 10-15C on load....

    Based on math...i would have gotten around -20C on the cool side, and around 51C on the hot...so the hot tends to be harder to exhaust so the temps are usually higher than usual.

    also air cool TECS are not that efficient...you really want to use water cool to go under 0C...plus in addition with higher watts...12v doesnt really cut it.
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page