1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Virtual Memory

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Knoxx29, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    2048 page never an issue.
     
    Knoxx29 and Jetster say thanks.
  2. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Oregon
    [​IMG]
     
    xvi and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Oregon
    You messed up my quote. Jesus read please. Do not disable it !!
     
  5. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok ok got it
     
  6. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    357 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    You don't need the page file for running apps at all at this moment. You have enough memory for most desktop applications. However, if you use the "standby" feature in windows (or in other OS), then that IS an important thing. RAM is volatile. DATA on HDD isn't. So, if you want to save some power and shut off some devices when you're asleep, but want to be in a "READY" state just by moving the mouse, you need that "saved" data on your hdd. "Page File" is what does that. If you don't care about that, you can be quite happy disabling that. If you want to really know more, Google "swap file".
     
    Dent1 and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Oregon
    Bad advice. I would get into why but we've been over this many times
     
    kn00tcn says thanks.
  8. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    i know i know, but as i told i had set my paging file manually and than i found that something was messing up with it and wanted be sure if that was normal,

    btw here is a pic of maximum performance vs manual

    Performance Benchmark Drive comparison benchmark.jpg
     
  9. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    357 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I know there's an ocean of knowledge-base on the internet, but I do not consider my advice as "bad". I did not scan the internet for universally pleasing stuff prior to posting.
     
  10. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    971 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Europa
    min-max 1024 is more then enough.


    I had mine disabled too for a long time, but then I wanted to see one bsod code and for that I had to set min 800mb..



    And while you're at it disable hibernation and re-claim some of that precious SSD space.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/819-hibernate-enable-disable.html

    In CMD (run as admin) type in: powercfg -h off and enter.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Had mine disabled since 2006, no issues to report.
     
    Nabarun, Aquinus and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  12. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    i will leave it
    minimal - 1024
    maximal - 2048
     
  13. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,559 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Louisiana
    That's a perfect setup. It's small enough to not degrade your SSD and still be useful as a pagefile, and large enough to handle any crash codes.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Same here. The only time I have an issue is if I'm running software from well over a decade ago. Most modern software doesn't care if you have swap enabled or not as long as you have the physical memory to accommodate it.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  15. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I have it set static at 2048MB. No issues at all. Used to have it lower, but it'd get full pretty quickly and a monitoring gadget I have would complain about it.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If your monitoring gadget is the only thing using swap, then you probably could find a better tool and ditch it all together.

    As @Dent1 and I have said, we've both have had our page files disabled for several years and very rarely did I run out with 8GB 4+ years ago and I've never gotten a message about the swap file or about running out of memory ever since I bought my skt2011 machine. If you need swap for some reason or another, by all means, turn it on. If you really don't need it though, there is no reason to turn it off if you have plenty of RAM. Your machine won't die if you turn it off, but it will definitely let you know if you need to turn it back on.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  17. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    I feel to try it turn it off, as you said my machine won't die,
    Maybe some machines need it maybe others don't, that's a random thing.
     
  18. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    914 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    south korea
    some apps need a minimum page file thats some people said its ok to disable it. some say somewhat affect. because people use differenf softwares
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    The software isn't using the page file, it's monitoring the overall system status. It gives warnings when things exceed tolerances like virtual memory full, CPU overheat, etc.
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It doesn't let you ignore certain things? I know a lot of monitoring tools will let me choose if I want to be alerted (or if it should even be checking,) a particular thing in the system. Either way, it's not like your system or the utility wouldn't work in this case, it would just carp about something that's not very important in your case. Low virtual memory is usually only a problem when you're low on physical memory as well, ideally swap isn't used if there is a lot of memory available.
     
  21. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Oregon
    Simple logical plan. Leave it, if you need it its there, if not its not hurting anything and you sacrifice 1 or 2Gb of SSD space to the Core dump Gods.
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Windows will actually swap stuff out if it's not being used. It doesn't tend to keep stuff in memory if it knows it won't need it for quite some time. Hard faults occur even without memory being filled and every write to an SSD is wearing it down. It might not impact performance but it will impact the life of an SSD. How quickly it wears it down depends on how often it needs to swap pages to the disk which happens extremely frequently when you fill your memory but still occurs, albeit slower, when it's not.
     
  23. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Toronto
    even on an SSD, why you would want to have a VARYING page file? it only gets more fragmented every time it happens to resize itself, while a fixed size wouldnt cause its own fragmentation & lets you budget your free space accordingly without surprises

    why dont we just use a ramdisk? no more disk writes, no more slowdown

    i thought hibernate puts the memory to disk, while standby might have the ram powered? i cant stand either anyway so... not for me
     
  24. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    357 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    RAM is volatile. The data on RAM is lost forever on power failure. When there is no electricity, there;s no RAM."
     
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,885 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Just how much will it impact the life of the SSD? This test had some Samsung drives do more than 3000 write cycles. I mean it will be outdated before this will be a problem anyway (or die from other causes), unless things have changed so much people will actually use their current systems 10 years from now.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page