1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Virus, need a little help.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by satindemon4u, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    970 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    First off let me say that if this doesn't belong here then I apologize. Now onto business. My computer will play random ass music from time to time. I looked this up and sure enough it is a virus. Duh. I have malware bytes and when I run a scan it does find an object or two. One of them is a trojan of some sort. When I click to remove the items it tells me I need to restart my computer and all will be good. So I do. However give it a few days and I will hear the music again. Repeat a scan and boom there is the trojan.

    So I guess my question is, what is the fix for this? REALLY don't want to have to do a full wipe/reinstall. :/

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,045 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,142
    Try some other free virus programs. Microsoft Security Essentials, Avast and you can give Spybot S&D a try.
     
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    970 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Gave Spybot a go and it only found some cookies. However I will let it scan again and I will make sure to give MSE a try as well.
     
  4. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    You could manually remove it. Check task manager for unusual processes.
    I found panda, avira and Rising anti-virus good for removing virus.
     
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    970 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Alright. Currently scanning with MSE and Malware Bytes. Will try the others if need be.
     
  6. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well i will say to try ESET Smart Security 5 or Norton Internet Security 2012 they are very good but personaly i will go to NIS 2012 because ESET is very strict if i use ESET it will block some website including it's own website just yesterday it blocked it's own website due to a virus found on the website
     
  7. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    970 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    The only weird thing so far I guess is that when I try to update MSE it says that it failed. It states that right when I push the update button. I use Peerblock but I even closed that and tried to update. Still with no luck. I am also unable to turn on windows firewall.
     
  8. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Do you use proxy?
    Make sure that the MSE has allowed to connect the internet.
    btw, You wrote "need a little help" but this is not a little help
     
  9. Fatal1ty39

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    best thing to do is to get one of these bootable antivirus cd most antivirus company has one.
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,734 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,285
    Download Kapersky Rescue Disk 10. Its free. Burn the ISO and boot from it. Update it once booted and do a full scan including roots.

    http://support.kaspersky.com/viruses/rescuedisk/

    After that run MSE and Malwarebytes again in safe mode. If clean back up and format.
     
  11. rockit00

    rockit00

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    224 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Sounds like your browser got hijacked. I had your exact same problem last week. I used AdwCleaner because MSE and other AntiVirus won't work! "MyStart Incredibar" was the culprit in my case!
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,640 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    Australia
    Run Hitman Pro it will find it ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)