1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] Vista LEGIT key, or Vista

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Gilletter, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Anyone have vista for sale, or a legit key that I can purchase, or know of someplace I can get it? I don't want to spend $120 on it... thanks
     
  2. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    341 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
  3. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    that's still a bit more than I was looking to spend... I mean I HAVE the programs, I just want a LEGIT one :cool:
     
  4. jinho11104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    295 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    is this even alloweD?

    i got a basic :(

    and i have a premium 32bit LEGIT key i can take pics of and send :(.. the cd however is velocity
     
  5. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    341 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I can go down to $60. Still not interested?
     
  6. commandercup New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    570 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I think you have to send the CD along with the key?
     
  7. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Ahh I shoulda read the rules... I guess I'm looking at the full package then, haha
     
  8. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi, I'll take this if you could ship to the UK :)

    It is the full retail version right?

    PS. sorry for thread hijacking.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2008
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,200 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    For that price nick,even without the disc its a steal.
     
  10. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland

    I know. I paid £130 ($260) for an OEM copy when it first came out, and even then the best price was around £110 :twitch:
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,200 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    I paid about 70 quid for my oem home premium.Its on its 3rd motherboard now,OEM FTW :rockout:
     
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    When I bought my OEM Vista, it was £59 for Home premium. :D . At the time that was half the retail price! :eek: . Mines on second mobo now, please enter the...she has such a droaning voice, lol.
     
  13. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    errrm, hi microsoft, my mobo's died *cough cough*
     
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yeah mine had to go back for RMA, what a shame they dont do that mobo anymore, I'll have to get a new one! :D . Its still the same computer. I.e my main rig.
     
  15. kyle2020 Guest

    thats why you buy the academic upgrade version ;)

    Im in education so im allowed to, but anyone can buy it tbf. No need to reset my key, nothing. :D

    All you have to do is install vista without entering your key, then after its finished pop the disc back in and do the upgrade. Simple, and not breaking any rules at all :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Where you get one of those. I got Office Ultimate cheap cus I'm a student, but I want in, is it basically a retail version like the office deal?
     
  17. kyle2020 Guest

    i got it off ebuyer, cost me £55. its home premium 32bit, and all you have to do is either upgrade over an XP install or a vista install (instructions above).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    When you say, do the upgrade does it reinstall? or just apply the licence key?
     
  19. kyle2020 Guest

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/124781 its £65 now, but still the academic version. You may need to prove your academic status if Mr. Gates rings you, but a letter from your school or whatever suffices as proof.

    *When i say do the upgrade, you put the disc back in and select the upgrade option rather that fresh install, but nothing changes. You cant activate your key until you do the upgrade, however. Also, dont install SP1 then try the upgrade, it doesnt allow you to activate your key.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Aww, only home edition. If they had ultimate I might think about it. I think I'll stick with calling Mrs. Monotone.
     
  21. kyle2020 Guest

    i didnt look for ultimate on the academic - i wish i had mind, and gone 64 bit too. Would have saved me from having to buy it, which it look like ima have to.

    *EDIT*

    looking at over £200 for ultimate upgrade.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Mind you other than ep*nis, what exactly does Ultimate give you? I wont use any of the biz features, think thats why I picked home premium in first place.

    You shouldnt have to pay anything for going to 64bit though. Just do that like I did.
     
  23. kyle2020 Guest

    what do you mean? I really want 64 Bit, just for futureproofing!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You have already paid for the key. The product key is locked to the version of windows, not whether it is 32 or 64 bit. For retail copies you can order a 64bit disc from MS.

    I bought 32bit OEM home premium. I downloaded a 64bit Vista (with SP1 integrated) ISO, then burned it and installed Vista in exactly the same way just with my own disc instead of the one that came with thr product key.

    As far as I'm concerned it is not illegal cus I have still paid MS for the product key and if it activates fine then there is no probs right?
     
  25. kyle2020 Guest

    good idea! i just quickly got my box out, and found a single piece of paper behind the install manual that says that i can order a 64bit disc aslong as i have the 32 bit for the price of shipping and handling. im looking it up now, but if its gonna cost loads then ill just do what you did.

    Cheers!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)