1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista Raid Problem Nvidia

Discussion in 'General Software' started by gto78, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. gto78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stuart, florida
    I have a dual boot setup with several hard drives, and when booting off the vista installation I have a problem reading the Raid 0 array. Instead of showing the array, windows keeps telling me to format each individual drive thats in the array. When I scroll down the device manager to the storage controllers, it shows a valid Nvidia Raid controller. Then scroll up to the disk drives menu, it shows them seperate instead of one array.

    Now if I boot the computer into XP, or into win 2k- both of them have no problems showing one big hard drive instead of two separate drives. It's obvious that Vista has a problem communicating with the nvidia raid controller. It's like it's communicating with the ide controller and bypassing the raid controller? I don't know that much about how it all works, I'm more of a user than an engineer.

    BTW I've tried all the newest drivers I can find and they only lead to a big blue screen and locked computer that says Royal.sys error. Then I have to go to last known good configuration.

    Anyone else have this problem or know how to cure it? Thanks

    JOE:banghead:
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  3. gto78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stuart, florida
    I checked that link, but I have Nvidia Nforce 4. I dont think those drivers will work for me. Thanks anyways. I just switched stuff around so it boots off XP instead of fista, I'll check on it every once in a while to see if they got their sh!t straight. It was slow anyways.
     
  4. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,298 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Honestly if I was you I would just run xp for the next few months.. I have vista too but I'm not installing it.. I have easier ways to give myself spyware and hacks..lol.. The software will actually make your games run worse.. yea thats right.. vista suxs so bad your games will run worse.. xp will run them better.. that "should" change within this year with updated drivers but from what I know of windows, i'm not expecting much.. their just good at blowing hot air.. thats what happens when you remove programs from a bundled group that tend to build up dependencies for eachother.. you get poop...lol.. anyway, I'd say you made the right choice.. hang with xp.. vista is garbage..
    oh yea, also theres no directX 10 games out so that's not an issue..
    once DX10 makes some games I'll switch to vista most likely.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page