1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista Sleep Mode Setting Questions

Discussion in 'General Software' started by spencer22l, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I've just installed Vista newly :)

    After installing this and that, I transferred my movies from external hdd
    to vista. It was gonna take a while so I left the house for some hour.

    When I was back my computer was in sleep mode, (which I never used in XP)
    and I pressed this and that button and some wriggles of mouse and clicks and even pressed my power button. Soon whichever did the trick, my screen went from black to Resuming... ( or something similar)

    But nothing else happened so I used my reset button on my case to
    force it to restart and got it back working.

    Here are some questions :

    1. During Sleep Mode, will my downloads work? Will torrents or just direct downloads from a website continue to download while in sleep mode?

    2. How do I properly wake it up from sleep? I've set it up so I have to
    enter my account password but I never even got to that screen so had to reset.

    [​IMG]
    3. If you look at the attached photo, there is "Turn off harddisk after" setting. Right now it is at default 20 minutes. Does this mean that my hdd will turn off 20 minutes after going to sleep? Or just 20 miutes of idle?

    4. Lastly, if my downloads won't work during default sleep mode setting, can I change the settings shown in the screenshot to make it possible? If so what settings should I change?

    Thanks for reading this long and noob questions :)
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,198 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,503
    in sleep mode, the PC is off. no downloads for you.

    2. You wake up by pressing the power button, or using the mouse and keyboard. These settings are controlled in the BIOS. To enter the password, type it on the keyboard and hit enter - if you set it in the BIOS as a wakeup, thats how - if you mean in vista, it will be a normal login screen.

    3. there is no photo. 20 minutes of idle.

    4. no. its not possible to do anything at all in sleep mode.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  3. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Oops, sorry for the attaching lol :)
    But you solved all of my questions so no matter!

    But then anyways, what's the point of sleep mode then? :confused:
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,198 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,503
    to save power like the machine was off, but be able to wake up and resume your work without interuption.

    Programs do not close in sleep mode, so you dont lose any work you had open. I've even sleeped a machine while gaming (offline ofc) and woken it up and continued playing days later.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  5. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Not everyone downloads at night, or has anything going on for that matter so sleep mode is fine for the most part, for most cosumers. Most people turn their PC off at night anyway... and don'y even know there is a "sleep mode"
    spencer22l says thanks.
  6. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I see, that could still be useful :)
    Thanks for all your good answers !
  7. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    yea, its kinda usefull... personally, I don't use it ... And I don't know anyone that does.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  8. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Oh, I just suddenly had another question.

    About the "turn off hdd after 20 min"

    If I leave setting like that as default and download and when hdd turns off,
    will the download stop because of it?
  9. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    When ur d/ling the hdd wont "idle" so there for it wont shut off after 20 minutes
    spencer22l says thanks.
  10. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Ohhh... I see now.

    I always thought idle as like not moving mouse and not touching keyboard.

    But I see now. Wow thanks for fast and good replies :)
  11. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    no problem ...
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,198 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,503
    you know me!

    I use it daily... its so much faster than waiting for a PC to boot up.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page