1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista SP1 Release Candidate 1 Expected Next Week, Public Beta Week After

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Windows Vista SP1 (Service Pack 1) has several nifty new features, and a few performance tweaks. Anyone hoping to get their hands on said features and performance tweaks will be able to do that in a week or two. Next week, select beta testers (most likely the same ones that got a copy of Vista SP1 Beta code) will be able to play with Vista SP1 RC1. In the second week of December, Microsoft is most likely going to start a public beta program, much like the public beta program that Vista originally had. The current build is 17051, and Microsoft hopes to have a final Vista SP1 build out by early 2008.

    Source: ZDNet Blogs
  2. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    dam it i could do with that now :banghead:
  3. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    What are these "nifty new features" that you speak of sir zek
  4. hacker111

    hacker111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    332 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    MA United States
    What are the "nifty new features" of this product....:confused:
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,905 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Florida
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  6. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Whats accessing the volume bitmap do for you again?

    And where is it that I can find it again lol:laugh:
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,142 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,591
    I wish the SP would increase performance for Vista. When is SP3 supposed to be released for XP? I hear the perf. gains are pretty good!
  8. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Its slated for first half 2008.

    http://blogs.zdnet.com/microsoft/?p=970


    Though im willing to bet that it wont be till this summer that we can get our hands on it if we so choose to.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,142 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,591
    So, probablly mid-08 of SP3. That sucks, by then I'll probablly have a new system and no longer be on XP, or mabye not.
  10. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  11. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Your welcome:slap::slap:
  12. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Indeed
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i waited til sp2 to go xp ... what sp will i switch to ME2 on?
  14. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    SP1 has trashed by buddies comp. The properties on My Comp doesn't work. The control panel has been deleted. You can't view the installed updates to uninstall SP1. It deleted all of the system restore points. It will randomly hang. IE7 locks up the comp. And the "Personalize" option doesn't work either. It basically just flat out deleted parts of windows.
    I should've known the install was screwed when SP1 kept restarting the machine (like 5 times at least) and each time saying that it was on step 3 (said step 3 the first time even).
    What a POS beta. I've never heard of such ridiculousness.
  15. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Are you sure you don't have a virus?

    You might want to check that out just to be sure of it.
  16. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I'm sure. I built the comp. and installed everything. Using nod32, superantispyware (real time protection on too), spybot and Firefox with all of the good extensions, etc. I just installed vista for the fun of it (he's a novice user and I tweaked the hell out of it), and thought I'd test the SP to see if it fixed anything. Everything happened right after it was done installing the SP.
  17. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Well it is only a beta thus far so its going to have massive bugs in it tough luck man I would suggest just going back to the original Vista instead until this thing releases in stores:toast:
  18. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    If I'm going to reinstall, I'll just install XP with the transformation pack haha. Screw that pos.
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Vista sp1 worked kinda ok on my pc,the control panel worked,it just kept switching to large icons by itself.I uninstalled it from the installed updates thing fine.I removed it just to be on the safe side,dint wanna risk a reinstall as i'd have lost a lot of stuff.

    Other than sp1,vista still works fine on my pc,and has done for the last six months.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page