1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista-What Games Are you Running?

Discussion in 'Games' started by 1Strive, Feb 17, 2007.

  1. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    So lets help each other out by listing the Games that we personaly are running w/ Vista.

    Company of Heroes (Fully Patched and Online Play) [Waiting on that DX10 Patch in March!]

    Rainbow Six Vegas (Fully Patched) [I just got this and it's AWSOME!]

    BF2142

    FEAR Combat

    I haven't loaded HL2 Source w/ CS and DoD but I have seen them work on Vista.

    Later,
    1STRIVE
     
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I have GTR 2, BF2 + Special Forces running since today. No problems so far.
    The good thing is that i used the Vista tweaks thread for winning some ram back.
    So BF2 runs even better then on XP imo.:toast:

    I must say that i did not expect to have zero problems with Vista. After trying multiple beta's,
    i really thought that it would come out half done. But the folks at MS worked hard to get it much better. I can't wait for the DX10 support and a larger choice in cards:D
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  3. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    I agree MS did a fine job w/ Vista. I was sckeptical a first because Vista Blue Screened on me twice and said "Bad Drivers" were to blame. Bad Drivers aren't MS' fault. And what fixed it was setting my CPU and Memory back to the Defaults down from OVERCLOCKING. So it was actually my fault.

    The Firewall seems pretty good and easy to tame. I don't like having to "ALLOW" each app every time I run it, but I understand why = that makes it way more secure.

    Over all I would say Vista RAWKS:rockout: Now we just need beter DX10 Driver and Games.
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i have all my steam stuff
    far cry
    ds9 the fallen
    stubbs the zombie
    vegas
    james bond 007 nightfire
    freak out extreme freeride

    they all work fine.i liked vista from the get go.
     
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    RC1 can run all my games no problem.
    Halo
    UT
    UT2004
    Quake 4 (looked like poop though)
    *didn't have any more really good ones installed at the time of testing*.
     
  6. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas

    Hey man, what do you think of Vegas? I have only had it today and I am already addicted. That cover system is fun. I like the newness of it.
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i like it a lot,it looks gorgeous too.it is quite fun online and theres even a online coop story mode,which i think is a great addition and something other games could do with.it spices up the single player mode no end.

    it is a good game and deserves a place in everybodys stack.
     
  8. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Only loaded up Counter Strike Source so far, runs about 69% as fast as in XP so I dont use Vista much.
     
  9. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    My parents needed a new OS, and originally I was going to tell them to just get XP Home, but then I decided I would use them as a test. I figured it was stable enough for normal use, so they now have Vista Home Premium. So far it's great. For a first time install it went far better then my first XP install. And starting off teh bat it seems to work better and faster then XP. I installed a couple of my games, all of the Dawn of War games work fine, Neverwinter Nights 2 worked fine, as did World of Warcraft, and Vanguard.
     
  10. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    Vista + Beta Drivers + Vegas = C2D

    Rainbow Six Vegas just Crashed 2 Desktop on me.

    Simple Math shows us that Beta Display Drivers Suck.

    Later,
    1STRIVE
     
  11. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well, it's hard for me to write which out of my 623 games i run in Vista, but i can only tell this that display drivers now suck and it isn't the time for adrenaline pumped gaming in vista.
    but still, here's some of my recently played games on Vista w/ no problems-
    Hitman 2 Silent Assasin
    UT2004
    Warhammer 40K Dark Crusade
    Halo 1, Halo 2, W8ing for 3 :D
    Fifa 2007
    Pro Evolution Soccer 6
    Counter Strike 1.6, and Counter Strike: Source
    NFSU, NFSU2, NFSC
    Battlefield 2142
    Wolfenstein: ET
    Warrock (this game is ati sponsored btw, and it runs quite slow w/ Vista default, or nVidia beta drivers :()
    HL2 is also w8ing :rolleyes:
    bla bla, i thnk i have to get another hdd.
     
  12. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    How did you get Halo 2 working on the PC?
     
  13. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    what do u mean, halo 2 doesn't work on pc ??
    it ran in vista normally as in pc. i bought it some weeks ago.
     
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    From where? And the even bigger question, is it legal? And even MORE importantly, how does it look and play?
     
  15. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    yes it's legit :)
    and see this that Halo is made for Vista- http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/halo2/news.html?sid=6143976
    it looks very realistic (wish i had a better card), the second series in Halo, i won't tell the whole plot, cuz it is available by googling ;)
    It's plays with all details set high a little stiffy, cuz my drivers suck, i'll update them after whql ones are released.
    Edit: I bought it from my local game retailer.
     
  16. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    913 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
  17. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    no Halo 2 only for Vista, it got leaked somehow and came to some stores as i can see, online stores haven't got it, and it's still legal.
    Just like geforce 8600 series which got leaked, sort-of.
     
  18. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Bulllllllllshit. If this had an inkling of truth, it would have gone gold and had a release date announced. If it were in retailers hands, there would be pre-release reviews out. Does lying make your E-Penis feel bigger?
     
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    x2

    As if the 8600 was leaked to anyone yet, none have been manufactured yet, and as if any game retailer would sell "illegal yet legal" software. Sort-of just makes you seem like a 100% genuine liar.

    How do you fit 623 games on your PC? Making stuff up makes you have no E-penis.
     
  20. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ok, so lot of ppl are ANGRY at me, maybe... so i'll go detailed this time -
    1. How the hell could i know if the game i bought from my retailer is legal or illegal ???
    The DVD had a cover as the original one, it came with a cd key legal, and the retailer said that it was leaked, he said me so. and it's not my imagination.
    2. I haven't played the game yet, but multiplayer, and it runs so it's legit (proves it, without legal key u can't play MP)
    3. i'm sorry if i'm spreading piracy here, though i don't know that i'm doing or not.
    4. I paid for the dvd 43$.
    5. If it's unlegit, i'll notify ya, but all prooves that it's legit.
    6. I'm telling from what i know about this, no lying.
    7. It looks sort-of based on Halo CE, but the 2 hand weapon, the character elite is only available in Halo2.
    8. I haven't got it installed it right now, cuz i gave it to my cousin for some days, i'll tell him to give a screenie :)
     
  21. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    CHill out, i have them on cds, and DVD's. i can't install them on my pc at THE SAME TIME.
     
  22. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    I actually had heard from some buddies of mine that work in EB/Gamestop that a Beta version of Halo 2 was stolen/copied/leaked from some reviewers office. It's possible he just got ripped and some ass sold him a beta copy of a game that shouldn't be out for a few months.


    Can't say anything about the 8600 being leaked, unless someone stole a test model of it or something. It doesn't start getting sold till march, so I don't think there would be any actually manfacutured yet. Maybe the ones nVidia is showing off at whatever its called in the beginning of march.
     
  23. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  24. SpoonMuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    318 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    solotair
    frecell
    chess titans
    harts
    mahjong
    minesweeper
    exct
     
  25. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    these are the vista inbuilt games....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page