1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista x64 won't download updates?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Black Panther, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    The last updates on my home desktop are dated 16th June.
    I've powered it on some 3 or 4 times since then, but nothing was downloaded automatically as per settings.

    I tried the manual update from the CP but I get an error code 80070002.

    I did the troubleshooting suggested (i.e. stop the Windows Update service, delete the temporary update files, restart the Windows Update service, and then try to check for Windows updates again) but I still keep getting the same error code, even after rebooting :confused:

    What gives?
  2. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    Kb971033 ??
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Well... I don't know which update would have been next.

    Heck I'm trying to check my update history and I'm getting "no updates were installed on this computer" wtf happened here? :wtf: :banghead: :mad:

    [​IMG]



    Now I tried downloading the updates through IE and this is all I get:
    [​IMG]

    wth???
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,400 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
  5. neoreif

    neoreif New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    That's precisely what I said I did in the OP. I didn't email MS yet though.

    I don't really like fixing these type of problems using third party utilities, but well if everything else fails I'll try that utility before I do a clean install.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    is the system clock set right?
  8. Mandown

    Mandown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    303 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Check IE internet settings never know it F'ed my updates for everything else. Just set to defaults if you don't know what to set.
  9. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    True, make sure the year is set right in your date and time, I once had an issue like that for a while, and I could browse the net but not update or go on MSN, and it turned out when I crashed my PC from OC'ing once the time reset and apparently the time needs to be set correctly to use Windows update properly.
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Hello BP,

    Try this:
    Goto "Control Panel" click "Troubleshooting", then click on "Fix Problems with Windows Update" (it is under System and Security on the Troubleshooting page).

    :)
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,400 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    Gaaaaah, I should learn how to read. Sorry. :(
  12. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    I'll do that next time I'm at home. Thing is that no one touched the computer and possibly meddled with the system clock. Also I use FF there and IE settings wouldn't prevent auto updates I guess? And still no one was there to change my IE settings from how I left them.

    The last date I updated was 16th June, though I don't know on which date that update had been available since I was not much at home. It could have been that I installed updates released on 1st June for example, on the 16th June...
    Thing is that I can't check which updates I've got so far since from the CP it says that I have no updates at all but from IE it says I have all the necessary updates and I don't need to download any. :wtf:

    Now which version to believe is another story.. :laugh:


    Right now I can't do much since I'm at another place on the laptop for the summer, but all I can say is that I've got the same OS on the laptop and I didn't have any upgrade problems at all during this whole month.
  13. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Still haven't fixed this... :ohwell:

    I've had this OS installed for months now, always updated fine -- now it says it's never been updated? :wtf:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    looks like the age old system clock issue to me, check the time/date/year
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    I'm on the home pc right now, time and date are correct :ohwell: 23rd August 2010 14:13
  17. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Try this, clean boot Vista:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

    Do Step 1. Ensure the native Vista firewall is enabled if a 3rd party
    firewall was disabled.
    Next, open Internet Explorer as administrator.
    Then try this:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/971058

    Click the Fixit button.
    If that does not resolve the error, try downloading the
    Fixit, ResetWindows.msi, and *save* it.
    Close Internet Explorer and any other open programs, then *right* click
    ResetWindows.msi and choose Install.
    Restart afterwards and see if the error is now resolved.
    Black Panther says thanks.
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    is the region set right?

    EG, if its set for anotehr time zone and you manually set the time, it'll still screw up cause the time doesnt match up for the set zone.
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,292 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    London, UK
  20. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Firstly, are you running the latest service pack, because; quote from MS site states, "Support for Windows Vista without any service packs installed ended on April 13, 2010. To continue receiving security updates for Windows, make sure you're running Windows Vista with Service Pack 2 (SP2)"

    If, that is ok, then, you might want to check for any hi-jack trojans or virus.

    Because, this person found his problem to be:
    "In my registry, the virus had replaced "%systemroot%" with "%fystemroot%"
    in several spots, so the correct files could not be found. I did a search
    for "fystemroot" in regedit, and replaced with "systemroot". (I did have to
    click "Edit" / "Permissions" and allow full control in each of the folders
    first. Evidently the virus disabled the permissions first.) I hope this
    helps anyone else who has a similar issue."

    You can try this, if you haven't already: System Update Readiness Tool for Windows Vista (KB947821) [April 2010]

    And, this update gave a lot of people a fit( I know you have no way to check for it, but if it installed improperly; a re-install may fix it): Update for Windows Vista for x64-based Systems (KB938194)

    Just some ideas, hope you get it straight.
    :)

    EDIT:

    Why do you state it is junk? It is a nice little freeware system info program. It does what it is intended to do.

    IMO, it is a good info gatherer for those who require or want a system profile of this type.

    And, I did not notice any information from your post to help resolve the OP's problem.
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
    Black Panther and SabreWulf69 say thanks.
  21. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    Have you checked your services yet? goto run services.msc also check this site
    http://www.blackviper.com/Windows_7/registry.htm

    i used to be the TSA for the state i lived in i seen so many fuck ups or policies pushed that broke these things
  22. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Yes region is set right.

    In Control Panel / System it says I'm running Vista x64 SP2.

    A search for 'fystemroot' in the registry yielded nothing.

    I tried both your suggested updates, and with both I get "this update is not relevant to your system" or something similar.

    I'm going to try Oily_17's suggestion now......

    :ohwell:

    @ Trigger911
    -- which services should I check?

    ____________________________________________

    Edit: Doing the Fixit suggested by Oily_17 didn't do anything. Except that the pc took a full 10 minutes to restart..

    I'm trying kb947821 again...

    ____________________________________________

    Edit again: hey what can I say? After doing Oily_17's fix now kb947821 is installing :)
    Now we see what happens...
    ____________________________________________

    Edit: I still get the same error 80070002
    Back to square one...
    :cry:
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2010
  23. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Quick question guys, should this folder be empty?

    [​IMG]
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    I have about 20 files and some folders in there.

    EDIT:BP did you try the resetting the Windows Update manually, there are details how to do it on the Fixit page

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/971058
  25. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Yes, if you cleared the update cache using one of the methods described in the KB971058


    EDIT:

    Just a thought, have you tried re-installing SP2?

    Or, running SFC /scannow from an Adminstrator command prompt?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page