1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

vista - xbox 360 media streaming

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by rizla1, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    ok , so i had it all set up and working but then it just stoped working for no reason.
    i googled it and followed ms instructions but it still wouldnt work . so my question is , is there any way to set vista back to defualt settings. it was probably something that was installed . it is annoying beecause i cant listen to my music on xbox.
     
  2. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Have you done the test on the Xbox to see if it recognizes the media center pc? Think its under network.
     
  3. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    yes ,and it doesnt . my pc does though but i think its something to do with the media player network sharing service
     
  4. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I've been doing my best to remember how I set mine up, but I'm afraid I'd need it in front of me to do it. I'll poke around with it when I get home tonight. I had similar issues with mine so I may just remember.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
  5. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I had this same problem, go into msconfig and under services make sure the Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service isn't disabled.
     
  6. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    no evrything is enabled and its started
     
  7. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Hmmm, ok, just to clarify, in Network and Sharing Network Discovery and Media Sharing are switched to on? Also in WMP you've configured the sharing options?
     
  8. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    yes and yes , i had it done rite a long time ago but something changed it
     
  9. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Weird how it would suddenly change. Well if you still can't stream music I'm out of ideas. Maybe something in your network settings?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page