1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista64 or XP64?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by bigenuffumbrella, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. bigenuffumbrella New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    82 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Guys I'm coming here first because I know you'll know best.

    Ok so I love gaming, but I'm also getting into photography pretty heavy and want to upgrade my current box to an 8Gig Photoshop chomping monster.

    I am thinking of going with the following:

    8gigs of Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    Abit IP35 Pro
    and a Quad 6600.

    ...I would like to OC this setup to around 3.0 if it'll go.

    So my question is:

    1. are there any comments about my choice in equipment? (quad or duo?)
    2. what would you guys load: XP64 or Vista64?

    Thanks for any and all help.
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    :toast:

    BigE.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,410 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    Well.. If you must use a 64-bit O/S, use XP. I don't see any reason for you to use Vista, unless you need to use DX10 apps. Vista has more problems than XP esspecially with the 64-bit versions. I would actually recommend 32bit XP but with 8gigs of memory go with XP 64bit.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I've used both, and as he said, unless you need DX10 Vista is a no no.

    And I can no longer recommend 32-bit XP after using 64-bit XP. It's miles better. I've had NO BSOD's. No instabilities, nothing. The only problem I have is my webcam doesn't have 64-bit drivers. Except for that 32-bit just isn't worth using, and Vista doesn't bring anything new to the table except for DX10, and unless you need it it's pointless.

    XP x64 FTW!
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  4. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Seconded. If you need to use a 32bit OS, use Ubuntu 7.10/Server 2003/Vista. IMHO, xp x86 is something I can no longer recommend either.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  5. mas0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    dallas
    I've been using Vista 64 for over 10 months now and have had NO problems. If you know how to tweak your OS, Vista is a great one. My only complaints would be that video drivers are obviously not quite as mature as they are for XP, but we're only talking about a 5-7% performance hit in my experience.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  6. Aguiar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    111 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    W XP 64 bits

    Hi Dudes...Man i´ve trying to get a 90 days copy of XP64bits and till now , nothing , no copy no answer from M$.Is there another way to get it ? Evaluation copy or else...Just wanna teste it before buying.THX.
     
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I can't say anything bad about XP64, it ran beautifully for me, but I did end up going with Vista 64 - that's where MS and devs are focusing their efforts.

    Probably won't have a problem either way.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  8. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Vista is great for me i donno whats all the talk about programs not working i've had no problems whatsoever exept for Kazaa, so i would recommend vista if you love to play games.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  9. iDash New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Vista for games period, why waste money on an inferior product, Total of 4GB Ram, with the only problem so far for me is AdWare SE not Vista 64 yet!
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Me thinks you need to do some research.

    XP 64bit is NOT XP 32-bit with 64-bit support. It uses the Server 2k3 kernel (which Vista was based on), it is NOT limited to 4Gb like XP 32-bit is.

    I've used both XP x64 and Vista Ultimate and Business x64, and out of both IMO XP x64 is the best.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  11. bigenuffumbrella New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    82 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks Dark :toast:

    I'm going with the XP64.

    I've already got a copy of it. I got it for free as a promo back when it was brand new and have never used it. It's hard to beat free. And if it's as mature and familiar as XP with the stability of 64 I think it'll do me just fine.

    I suspected as much anyway but it's nice to hear from someone who has used both.

    Cheers!

    BigE

    PS by the way Dark...your system settings say Windows XP64 custom...no crap. Exactly what does that mean?
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    XP64 is garbage. i used it for 6 months and i had to reinstall 4 times. it's not stable at all. I've tried it on several different computers and the same problems occurred. vista home premium 64bit is cheaper than xp64... unless your using a hacked version on xp64 which i don't recommend.
     
  13. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    When did you try it? If it was any time before SP2 was released, it may interest you to try it again now, unless you are using a PC with specs like these:

    Early Athlon64 S754
    Unknown motherboard with single channel ddr2100 and SiS integrated video
    really old pci tv tuner
    really old sound card by some never heard of brand
    XP x64 RTM

    If you have something similar to that, any Windows x64 might not be right for you.

    If you tried it recently using the PC in your specs, well then I don't know what to tell you. I guess just use w/e works best, although I would find it hard to believe.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i had a amd x2 5200 at the time on a asus m2n32-sli with 2 7900gt's in sli. also, i started using xp64 about 5 months before vista came out.

    my vista 64 has had absolutely no problems at all.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  15. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Vista 64 will have better support going into the future. If you dont have any driver issues with it right now, there is no reason to use XP 64. If you dont like Aero, turn it off. Dont like the high memory usage? Turn off superfetch. After that you pretty much have XP 64/Server2k3 with better consumer-level support.

    There is one big issue with Vista 64 though. You cant run unsigned drivers without pressing F8 and selecting unsigned driver mode at every boot. If you leave your PC on all the time, it isn't a problem.
     
  16. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Like wazzledoozle said, if you don't have any driver issues with it, then go for Vista 64bit. Myself, I've never heard of anyone who had an easy time with Vista 64bit, driver-wise. Aggravating experiences all around, at best. 64bit computing is not, definitely NOT, upon us. Well, yet anyways.
     
  17. bigenuffumbrella New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    82 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    No problems at all with any games, any drivers, any programs you normally use?
     
  18. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I can absolutly recommend Vista 64-Bit....rock solid...until now...installed it yesterday

    All my gear is Vista 64-bit driver supported (See system specs.)

    my app. list that runs perfect under Vista 64-Bit :

    -Office 2003 Professional
    -FireFox 2.0.0.9
    -Safari 3.0.4
    -Steam ( CS:Source, HL2, TF2 and so on )
    -Comrade ( Warmonger - UT3 - QW:ET )
    -WinRAR
    -Kaspersky AntiVirus 7.0
    und so weiter.......

    The only appl. that don´t work is : ATITool 0.27b2.....
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    I dunno about 64-bit Vista, but 32-bit Vista is pissing me off, I'm going back to XP x64.
    Never had any trouble setting it up, no driver problems, ran well, only slight incompatibility (GTR, was the only game I ever had problems installing under x64, but then again, it uses SecuROM, or something else similarly shite, and incompatible with 64-bit XP. Apart from that, Battlefield 2 just warns it was tested only on XP SP2 32-bit, but still works fine), and all of my main 32-bit applications run like clockwork.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  20. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Vista is less like 2k3 than 2k3 is like XP. The whole 4GB issue has nothing to do with XP either, it's just the limit of ANY 32 bit OS.

    Personally I'd recommend Vista64 over XP64 simply due to support. Compatibility issues with older programs exist on both, so that's not the issue.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  21. bigenuffumbrella New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    82 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    HOT DAMN! I just checked UPS and my goodies are officially here!
    :rockout: woo hoo!

    Now, debate aside...one way or the other...at some point this weekend whatever has invaded the jungles of North Korea in Crysis is in deep doo-doo. :) :cool: Like Jimi said "Here I come baby. Comin' to gitchoo!"

    Because you guys have been so helpful I'll give you first dibs on any of my old stuff if anyone should want it. I'll be posting pix, and listing the stuff officially under the "for sale" forum later this weekend once I get it all out of my old box and some pix made.

    But just so you know..this is what will be listed (provided no one wants any of it before hand)

    Abit AN8 32X motherboard.
    AMD 64x2 4400 (939 pin) processor
    2 gigs of Corsair XMS DDR-400
    Sapphire X1900XTX (modded with Arctic Cooling fan)
    Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
    1 real laser etched store bought copy of Windows XP Pro SP2.

    For most of this stuff I still have the original boxes (I keep the stuff in case something dies in warranty) the board, the video card, the processor (I think)

    Anyway...pix and prices will be listed later this weekend. If anyone is interested in any or all of this stuff give me a shout we'll work a deal.

    Thanks again guys...

    BigE.
     
  22. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I love 64 bit Vista, didn't have a bit of trouble at all getting it up and running on my custom build!
     
  23. bigenuffumbrella New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    82 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    What sort of games might you be playing, BiggieNoob? How about things like...your iPod? your cellphone? digital cameras? or maybe apps not everyone would use...like Perfect Disk, or Nero?
     
  24. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Nero runs fine, my cellphone, Ipod, and Digital Camera hook up great.
    I play CS:S, Starcraft BW, World in Conflict, Supreme Commander, the Battlefield Series, etc.

    Only thing that doesn't work is my webcam, but that's probably because it came out around the same time as Windows 95.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.
  25. Spunky

    Spunky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida, USA.
    If you find yourself drooling for no apparent reason, or occasionally wake up and can't figure out where you are, you might want to stay away from Vista x64. Otherwise, it's a great OS and you won't regret using it.
     
    bigenuffumbrella says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page