1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Visual C++ 2008 + Vista 64 Question

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by dcf-joe, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    392 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Can I use the visual c++ 2008 express IDE in vista 64, or do I need to get some kind of separate 64-bit compiler?
     
  2. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    You should be fine. I used Visual Basic '08 on 7 x64. Just make sure Vista is updated.
     
    dcf-joe says thanks.
  3. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    VS 2008 working fine here on Vista x64, can compile for x86 and x64(not tried yet).
     
    dcf-joe says thanks.
  4. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    392 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Thanks for the info guys. I guess I was just seeing if anybody else has used visual on vista x64. I remember reading that you can develop native x64 apps with the express editions, but that you had to download the windows sdk and then configure visual studio.
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,121 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I believe the ability to compile for x64 and IA-64 are packages (IA-64 especially is) which can be selected during installation. Which compiler it uses is choosen in your project properties.

    Visual Studio 2008 itself works fine on Windows 98 through Windows 7 x64.


    In x64, you can't edit a binary that is currently debugging. You have to stop the debugger, edit, then start it again. In x86, you can. Not sure about IA-64.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    392 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Do I need to install anything sql related if I just plan on doing basic to a little advanced c++ stuff?
     
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,121 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Nope. That's just there for OLE/DBC stuff. You can always Add/Remove it later if you do need it.
     
    dcf-joe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    392 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Is 664K memory usage for a simple guessing game considered optimized? I just made it in VS2008 Express.
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,121 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I wouldn't worry about memory usage unless you are running into the megabytes.
     
    dcf-joe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    392 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Alright, I will keep that in mind.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page