1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

visual confirmation shows R360 core, ATI Tool shows R350

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by sweeper, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Ok, I just purchased an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB BBA. The core shows it to be the R360 core, but, under ATI Tool it tells me it's an R350? Also, it seems to be acting funny. It doesn't want to overclock very well at all. Now it's used, so I am wondering if someone hasn't messed with the bios ??? Shouldn't ATI Tool pick it up as an R360 core?
  2. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    The R350 and R360 are the same chip, ATI says the R360 is an "improved" version (drivers make the difference I believe). It only shows R360 when it's an XT version of the 9800.

    -Dan
  3. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    so far this card has been a BIG disapointment..... The highest core clock is only 400 and memory is only 720DDR ..... :( My last BBA R9800 Pro was able to run at 466 core 796DDR and it was the R350 core. :( :( This card has the R360 core and Samsung 2.8ns memory but performs horrible!!!!!!!
  4. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    All cards tend to vary, it might have slightly lower voltages and that will cause a lower overclock. It's luck of the draw really. Better cooling should help you a bit. And if you really want more, you can always voltmod, there are plenty of articles on this site for that.

    -Dan
  5. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Volt modding a 9800 Pro ?? I haven't seen anything about volt modding a 9800 Pro?

    I have an Artic Silencer and OCZ Copper BGA ramsinks on the way from Newegg.... Guess I will see what happens when I install them.
  6. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Incase you're interested...

    -Dan
  7. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    thanks... will look into that. Just disappointed that this card has performed so poorly (overclocking) .... :(
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    ha lucky you i can only get my core to 406 360mem 720ddr
  9. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Poor overclock is typical for R360. On my 9800PRO (with XT PCB) modded to 128MB 9800XT with Overdrive (temp. monitoring) at 1.77V default Vcore it can reach only 416MHz. That's why it was produced like 9800PRO 128MB not XT. After slight Vmod to 1.80 the core can reach 424MHz without artifacts. I am with ATI Silencer 3 and the max. temperature under load is 69C. The memory Hinix 2.8ns can be overclock to 380MHz at 2.69V.

    I am happy with the performance of that card because it is far more better than expected. I am with my custom BIOS which is created for 2.8ns memory, XT PCB (Overdrive - 418MHz, fan control), 128MB XT;) .

    The card is still nice but if you compare it with the present-day monsters the performance could be characterize like poor. But let be realists (I have also X800XT PE) but not all the people can effort 500-600$ for video card. Even today I can tell that 9800PRO is a nice card in every aspect:) .
  10. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    I flashed mine to the XT bios and Temp. Monitoring never showed. Hmmmm :wtf: anyway, it's back to the original ATI R9800 Pro BIOS with the 2.8ns Samsung Memory. What drivers do you recommend? I'm currently using the latest ATI drivers with the beta ATI Tool.

    You said you set yours to 1.77 default Vcore? Is that through the bios flash? :confused: The problem with mine after the flash was there was no temp. monitoring available and the Core speed was too high and produced artifacts. :shadedshu

    I thought about doing some volt modding but it looks a bit to involved for me AND this is my only card and I really don't want to destroy it if I mess up. :cry:
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2005
  11. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Interesting.... I found a Palit 9800XT Bios and flashed my Pro and set the voltage to 1.8v and this was the result with no artifacts...... :cool: :twitch:

    [​IMG]
  12. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    If you really have R360 and probably normal 9800PRO PCB (as I told you mine is XT PCB) here it is one real 9800XT 128MB BIOS for 2.8ns memory. You can't affect the Vcore through BIOS!!!
    Probably it will be also interesting to read that about 9800PRO to XT modding: http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx?location=3&var1=92&var2=0

    With the "normal" 9800PRO PCB you won't have Overdrive and temperature monitoring. If the core or the memory clocks are too high for you edit the BIOS with RaBit and create your custom BIOS. Save it and use it to flash your card. All this is absolutely useless if you don't have R360 core ;). Remember that on PRO PCB for sure you have low Vcore than needed for R360 and that is the reason to have poor overclock. You need 1.78V (like on real XT) in order to run it with 412MHz and more.

    For the voltages on 9800PRO see that: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/56

    For the voltages on 9800XT see that: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/voltmods/102

    Never forget that R360 is very hot chip specially at high (XT) clocks. You need for sure better cooling.

    Finally if you discover XT PCB after reading the first link just let me know and I will send you BIOS with temp. control ;).

    My "smal" computer has P4 2.6GHz 800FSB, P4P800SE, 2x512MB 400MHz (dual channel), 40GB Maxtor 5400RPM, 2MB cash and can make (with Overdrive enabled - 418MHz core) 6500 3DMarks03 at default resolution (1024x768) no AA and AF - just for comparison.

    Success

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 20, 2005
  13. turbopsi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perry, FL
    Yeah, can't increase voltages through the BIOS on these cards.

    Mine ran 420/800, it was a sapphire with R360 core. It was decent, now I have a 6800 :)

    My friends R350 ran way higher clock speeds though, I was like WTF.
  14. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Still not really sure on how to tell if it's the XT PCB... they look the same other than my core says R360 on it. What do I look for that is different on the PRO and XT PCB's???? From the pics I can't tell the difference? Mine looks like this one: http://www.rojakpot.com/article/ATI/Radeon_9800_Mod/128mb_old.jpg

    with the R360 core and Samsung 2.8ns Memory.
  15. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
  16. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    This is what my cards PCB looks like:

    [​IMG]
  17. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    3DMARK 2K3 - 6852 @ 420/350(700DDR) with the Sapphire XT BIOS. :ohwell:
  18. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    You have classic 9800PRO (PRO PCB) with R360. Very good card but you can't have temp. monitoring with that PCB. The 3DMark03 result seems quite good and the clocks are also OK. Probably you can achieve 365MHz on memory also. Don't forget about cooling because the heat exhausture should be considerable at 420MHz. The first thing which can suffer from the heat it is the memory.
  19. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Hopefully Tuesday my HSF and BGA Ramsinks for the card will be here. We'll see how well it cools it down. I picked up some OCZ Copper BGA Ramsinks (which I've used before and they worked very well) and an Artic Cooler (ATI vers.) which I've also used as well. Both performed very well on my last card so I'm hoping to get very close results.
  20. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    For your card the Sapphire BIOS seems to be the best. If you have some problems with it let me know and I can provide you more 9800XT BIOSes but they are not real XT. I have tons of them ;).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page