1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Visual problems.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Confused Gamer, Aug 20, 2013.

  1. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    I started playing Mass Effect 2 again on the pc after some problems getting it to work, however now when I run it I get weird small graphical glitches in the text that appears and on the images of teammates, I've checked temps and although running them in CF this game doesn't utilize both cards, so only card 1 is being used and runs in between 50 - 70 so I'm fairly certain that it's not the temp that is causing this, but I would like to find out what is so I can fix it.

    My cards are Sapphire Radeon HD7770 Ghz Edition

    I know it's not a fault with the card as I have run other more intensive games with the text on and and no such problems occur, I'm curious to know if this is just a problem with the game or something more.
  2. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    357 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    are you ocing your memory?

    if so, lower it.
  3. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Only cpu is oc'd and that is running stable and has no problems with any other activity, this worked fine before but the software Origin got updated recently and forced me to reinstall that and the game which is when these glitches first appeared.
  4. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    357 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    i meant GPU memory
  5. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Nope both cards are running at stock values and it's only recently and only seems to be on this one game that these pixel problems occur, it's like tiny artifacts but it displays like the pixels on the screen are going with it's little colored boxes appearing over text and some images.
  6. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    631 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Toronto
    screenshot? do you have MLAA enabled?
  7. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Haven't figured out how to take screenshots via Origin atm (it has it's own feature for doing so, will find out though)

    Just checked to make sure and MLAA is disabled.
  8. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    631 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Toronto
    why would you need origin's (i have no idea where it will save to, if it has a feature to link to it like steam, it probably will have some ugly jpg compression setting like steam has)

    just fire up fraps or even printscreen, upload to an image host
  9. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Right just to recap when I first had the problem I was using CCC 13.8 Beta, and I stopped playing the game to ask the question here where I found that 13.8 B2 was released and updated to that, then when trying the game again the problem no longer occured, I ran the game and Fraps for a good hour or more in stressful environments to try to replicate the problem but nothing occurred so put this down to the driver I was using.
  10. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Apologies for double post but I have some interesting Developments to share.

    Running Mass Effect 2 with fraps the other day I could not replicate the problems I was describing, however upon loading it today without fraps this time I had the same graphical glitches, so I alt+tab out of the game and started up fraps and switched back to the game and oddly enough the visual problems stopped, I could not replicate them again, I'm not sure what this is but it is most definitely odd.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page