1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vmware is soo cool

Discussion in 'General Software' started by tigger, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    I just grabbed vmware to try out,and installed xp pro in a virtual machine on my vista machine.It is quite surreal seeing xp pro fully install and run in a window.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    wtf? Can you run Linux in that, do you know? Like I am in Vista, I want Ubuntu in that :D
     
  3. the_professor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    VMware rocks. I use Linux/Unix systems as my primary boots and used to use VMware to boot into WinXP from within *nix. :toast: Though I'm currently running Vista with its own main boot, as a separate partition.

    EDIT:
    ...still running Linux/Unix... Vista is my alternate OS (for use with a certain MMO only). ;)
     
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i just tried crossover and it sucks balls
     
  5. freakshow

    freakshow

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    yes u can ;)
     
  6. the_professor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Which system were you using as the primary boot and which system within vmware?
     
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    892
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I've used crossover office to run office 2k3 apps under suse 11 x64, runs great actually! I also use vmware, virtualpc and virualbox and have at least a dozen virtual machines I can run at any time. win98, win2k, win2k3 server, winxp 32, winxp 64, vista32, vista 64, server 2008 x64. Also have suse10 x64, suse11 x32 and x64 virtual machines. Great way to test a new os, or just use the features of another os that you normally can't!
    Main host os is xp64. If you want to test 64 bit guest oses, you need to have a 64 bit host os.....
    And yes, you can install a linux guest os, any distro you want, and run it under windows in a window
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ROFL!!!

    i've been using vmware for years!

    do this....

    install ubuntu and get compiz fuzion working

    install VMware and install vista or xp in it.

    run vmware fullscreen and then rotate the cube desktops.

    show your friends and family, they will be amazed.
     
  9. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Can you run mac on that?
     
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes!
     
  11. the_professor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Unless I'm mistaken, Mac has an Intel-based version of OS X... I have no personal experience attempting to run OS X within VMware, though it would appear to be possible now.

    EDIT:
    nevermind, someone beat me to it with "yes!" ;) heheh
     
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Heres portable tf2 in xp in vista.

    [​IMG]

    I will be learning more about this in the coming weeks,it is really useful.
     
  13. Jeno Guest

    old news lads
     
  14. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Vmware is pretty awesome. Back when I had free time I fooled with it a bit on Ubuntu and came up with a ridiculous combination of things... here's a picture, I can't even remember what I ended up with. Ubuntu in XP in Ubuntu with Windows ME to the side or something like that. When you dock the OS in another that's when things get really confusing.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yes! It's a lot of fun to play with, but I soon got rid of it because I have literally no use for something like that. Whenever / if they get efficient GPU acceleration working in Ubuntu with Vmware, THEN it'll be a different story.

    Hey, just because it's old to you doesn't mean it's old to others.
     
  16. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,246 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,990
    I work at a hospital where we are using VMware ESX. We have about 400 thin clients using RDP to pull VMs running off of 12 servers, and the VMs are stored on about 4TB of SAN (we have 12TB devoted to the total project).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yup....

    ESX can be setup on ONE physical machine and host TONS of clients. that saves you TONS AND TONS AND TONS of money. like $800,000 just for a medium sized business.
     
  18. freakshow

    freakshow

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    how in the hell u do that i been trying to figure that out for awhile now i didn't even think it was possible lol
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    takes a bit of linux knowhow and time. about 30mins and i could have it up and running.
     
  20. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,246 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,990
    IIRC, One ESX server can host approximately 128 VMs, but they need to be very robust. Ours are dual 2.6GHz quad-core Xeons with 48GB of ram, with 15K RPM SAS drives in raid 1 for the OS. :rockout:

    Did I mention we have the largest SAN in IL? I think we are over 22TB now...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    How easy would it be to get VMWare and a Linux distro going? What would be a good distro for server stuff and internet?
     
  22. the_professor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I think freakshow was asking how to accomplish it... asking for some info on how to actually do it. ;)

    Which steps are you currently unable to do?

    1. Are you having trouble installing/setting up *nix?
    2. Are you having trouble installing/setting up compiz?
    3. Are you having trouble installing/setting up VMware?
    4. Are you having trouble installing/setting up Windows within VMware?
    5. Are you having trouble getting the VMware Windows to go full-screen?
    6. Are you having trouble getting the cube to rotate?

    Where approximately in IL? I used to work in an IL hospital. :) Though I have no idea if the hospital some awesome server set-up like that.

    Best for server? OpenBSD... but you're just getting my opinion... you'll get plenty of others. ;)
     
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    VM is really the best program that has came out from the time of windows 3.11.

    You can load as many different o/ses at one time(any kind). Then you can start fresh every time you open one up.(As you don't have to active those copies ever either:) )

    For us at work it is the best soft EVER. You can have lets say 8 different copys of windows 2003 running, and be running different things on them. It will let you test if a program will work with another program. If one program will not work with another program because of an update.

    VM is just the best thing to ever come out in a long long time.

    I wish windows had that built into it.
     
  24. freakshow

    freakshow

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    yep thats what i was asking but i gave up on it lol but im about to install linux mint on vmware to try it out lol
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    its easiest to start with a dry load of ubuntu and not use a moded distro like mint. mint is sweet
    but you need to set it up on a dry ubuntu once or twice to see how it all correlates.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page