1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Volta to bring 1 TB/s memory bandwidth to GPUs?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cadaveca, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Attached Files:

    btarunr and okidna say thanks.
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    That robot in the intro is scary awesome!
     
  3. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    1TB/sec sounds great, but that's ~4x the bandwidth of current high end GPUs. If bandwidth doubles each generation and Volta is two generations away, then it's normal progress.
     
    FordGT90Concept, jmcslob and cadaveca say thanks.
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,129 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So Volta is their codename for the generation after Maxwell? Interesting...
     
  5. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,457 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
  6. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    474 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Indonesia
    cadaveca says thanks.
  7. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,127 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    The keynote was 12hrs ago. :slap:

    Nothing too exciting just a bunch of graphs and the funniest part was when they were introducing the director for upcoming Fantastic Four and how GRID would help out. The crowd just didnt seam interested and JJ-H was try'n to get them interested. Even the director was like eh..

    And not one mention of Project Shield just a reference to it when hes showing off Ira which had the responses scripted since you can tell it resets for each responce on the video.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Tegra roadmap:


    [​IMG]


    I had school today, so missed this, some interesting stuff but at the same time seemed like too much pandering. Will be interesting to hear some of the other presentations that'll be given over the next few days, so yeah, GTC is still ongoing. :p Maybe more interesting stuff will come in the next few days.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    logan prototype
    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  10. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,813 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,259
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I know the technology is completely different, but I remember Nvidia embedding the VRAM to the RSX GPU substrate for PS3 back in 2006, I think it didn't offer much of a performance advantage back then due to the 128bit bus.

    Embedding some sort of cache in the same substrate as the GPU die and giving it a 1024bit direct bus to the GPU could provide the necessary increase in bandwidth.

    Since all the traces between the GPU and this cache memory would be relatively short and not an actual part of the PCB design, this approach would be feasible from an economic point of view.

    I bet cards would still require more VRAM on the PCB with a more conventional bus in order to reduce design complexity and cost, and allow for more memory availability due to VRAM density not being limited by packaging constrains.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,129 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Here is what I have to say to Nvidia now after watching a lot of the videos from today.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,127 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    Thats another thing that felt flat.

    Tegra roadmap needs to be push 2yrs forward to be competative.

    Logan should have been what Tegra 4 "Wayne" Tegra4i "Grey" is. Thats why Qualcomm S600 is stealing all the flagship this year. Not one new phone that has been anounced will be using Tegra4i on there flagship product. The only one commited to carring Tegra4i is ZTE.

    Parker is going to be a year or more late as thing stand. Dell has been testing AppliedMicro 64bit ARM since late last year and AMD will be producing a hybrid by 2014. By the time Parker rolls out 2nd gen 64bit ARM SoCs will be coming out.
     
  13. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Bandwidth doesn't double with each generation. They've been slacking with bandwidth improvements for awhile now. It's been a pretty slow craw from 100 to 200 GB/s.
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The question here is, is memory bandwidth really that important? My answer is that GPU clock, throughput, shading perfomance and everything around it is far more important than high raw memory bandwidth.
     
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,878
    That is what I was wondering. Its a terabyte a second of bandwidth... At the very least it will make memory not a bottleneck for a while.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,513 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
  17. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,127 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    Those have already shown up in recent drivers

    NVIDIA_DEV.0FC4 = "NVIDIA D14P1-15"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FC5 = "NVIDIA D15M2-03"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FDA = "NVIDIA GK107-ES-A1"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FE3 = "NVIDIA GeForce GT 745M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FE5 = "NVIDIA GeForce K340 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FE6 = "NVIDIA NVS K1 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FE7 = "NVIDIA Generic K1 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FEF = "NVIDIA GRID K340"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FF0 = "NVIDIA NB1Q"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FF1 = "NVIDIA NVS 1000"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FF2 = "NVIDIA GRID K1"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FF5 = "NVIDIA Tesla K1 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0FF7 = "NVIDIA Quadro K1 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1001 = "NVIDIA D15U-60"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1003 = "NVIDIA GK110 DT Bringup"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1004 = "NVIDIA D15U-50"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1182 = "NVIDIA GK104"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1184 = "NVIDIA GK104 "
    NVIDIA_DEV.118A = "NVIDIA GRID K520"
    NVIDIA_DEV.118B = "NVIDIA GeForce K2 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.118C = "NVIDIA NVS K2 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.118D = "NVIDIA Generic K2 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1192 = "NVIDIA GeForce GK104"
    NVIDIA_DEV.119F = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11D1 = "NVIDIA GK106-INT343"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11D2 = "NVIDIA GK106-INT232"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11D3 = "NVIDIA GK106-ES"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11E2 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 765M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11E3 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11FF = "NVIDIA NB1Q "
    NVIDIA_DEV.11B0 = "NVIDIA Quadro K2 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11B1 = "NVIDIA Tesla K2 USM"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11B6 = "NVIDIA N15E-Q1"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11B7 = "NVIDIA N15E-Q3"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11B8 = "NVIDIA N15E-Q5"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11BB = "NVIDIA Quadro 4100"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11C1 = "NVIDIA D14P2-30"
    NVIDIA_DEV.11C2 = "NVIDIA GK106"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1281 = "NVIDIA D15M2-05"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1282 = "NVIDIA D15M2-20"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1283 = "NVIDIA D15M2-10"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1285 = "NVIDIA GK208-100"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1290 = "NVIDIA GeForce GT 730M "
    NVIDIA_DEV.1291 = "NVIDIA GeForce GT 735M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.1293 = "NVIDIA GeForce GT 730M "
    NVIDIA_DEV.1294 = "NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M "
    NVIDIA_DEV.12A0 = "NVIDIA GK208"
    NVIDIA_DEV.12AD = "NVIDIA GK208-ES"
    NVIDIA_DEV.12AE = "NVIDIA GK208-CS1-C"
    NVIDIA_DEV.12AF = "NVIDIA GK208-INT"
    NVIDIA_DEV.12B0 = "NVIDIA GK208-CS-Q"
    NVIDIA_DEV.12B1 = "NVIDIA GK208 INT"
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
    Maban says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page