1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Voltage Uncap Your GTX460!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by JrRacinFan, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    It's pretty easy really. When I have time this weekend I will sit, write a batch file for DOS to use with this and show how to create a bootable USB drive to flash the card. :)
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I want to thank Jr for helping me... if i was a girl i would have his baby :)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I'd like to flash mine tonight, anyone willing to tell me how to use nvflash?
     
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I'm sure there is a guide on this forum but I do not know where atm. Here is a pretty good one... http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3433513&postcount=1 ...I recommend the bootable usb stick method. As long as you save your original bios beforehand you will be ok. ;)
     
    LifeOnMars and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    FUCK!

    i typed out a long tutorial on how to do it with two thumb drives but i messed up and click the back button on my mouse and it was erased so now im too pissed to re type it..... sorry
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    ^ LOL! :laugh:

    There is a nice fellow at Guru (BetA13) that will mod your stock bios for you if you ask him. I have used him before and he is completely trustworthy... http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=329033
    He did a bios for my MSI GTX 460 to uncap the voltage limits and it worked great.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I just realised i put - i would like to flash mine tonight :shadedshu:D:shadedshu

    EDIT - 999 Posts!!!
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Get me your bios LifeOnMars. Upload it as an attachment in ZIP format.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  10. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Here you go Jr, thanks :)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    For all intents and purposes here's a modded and original Gigabyte SOC 1GB. Uncapped to 1.14v and 3d is defaulted to 1.1v. Should be enough to hit 940-950 core on them. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    So Jr helped me flash my card, I've been playing around and the most stable seems to be 940/1880/2300 @ 1.15v. Anything above that on the core and it artifacts whilst playing/benching, it doesn't CTD though, just artifacts. No different whether its at 40c or 70c so all in all I'm very happy, I've now netted a 40mhz gain on the core from a simple flash. Also the memory seems to have come alive as well now.

    Gained a 23k+ score in 3dmark 06 with cpu @4.1 so all in all a good days work.

    Thanks alot Jr for your help, very much appreciated :)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  13. mihaiLLL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    Hello.Please anyone give me an bios mod for Gigabyte GTX 460SE.Thanks
     
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    The guide is on the OP, to prevent bricking your card it is best you use your bios as each card varies greatly
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  15. mihaiLLL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    This is my bios
     

    Attached Files:

  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You can uncap it but the SE cards don't do too well with a higher gpu voltage. Not much of a gain can be had with a bump. Best to stick with what you can get on stock.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page