1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VPN for LAN/Internet Gaming

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by FordGT90Concept, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I was trying to get Empire Earth to work over Internet but it appears the master servers are down for the count. The only way to play the game now is via LAN which I confirmed did work; however, it would be nice to play with a friend over the Internet so he doesn't have to come over here and I think VPN can do that. Unfortunately, I don't know much more about VPN than what it stands for...

    Anyone got suggestsions for VPN software to achieve what am I trying to achieve (LAN over Internet)? I'd prefer free because it probably won't get used more than once a month.

    Thanks in advance for suggestions.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,507 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    have you considered using hamachi? i think you can use it for what you need.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    best software out there ... used it for years with CnC games :toast:
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Any reason to get the "managed" version? It will just be one game with two players so it shouldn't be that complex. It would be nice to run the VPN software on my server and both client computers connect through it though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Virus-j

    Virus-j

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    That sounds like GameSpy; not what I'm looking for.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. ocgmj

    ocgmj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I was looking at OpenVPN and basically got really confused...

    Hamachi and OpenVPN appear to be the main (free) technologies out there. Hamachi is P2P and easier to set up. OpenVPN is server/client and takes more work. If I really want to have my server handle everything, OpenVPN is the better route to take. At the same time, Hamachi would have better performance being P2P.

    I really don't think performance would be a big problem with OpenVPN because the client computer is plugged in to the same gigabit switch as the server. That leaves my primary concern being the difficulty of setting up and connecting. My server already has Ventrilo hosted and configured.


    Empire Earth requires 3 ports (33334-33336) to be forwarded. Does that play in to it at all?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    since its technicaly over lan via a VPN, ports would not be an issue as long as Hamachie can connect fully.



    all you do is install it, make it your default lan connection and your done!. its as simple as that.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It doesn't interfer with normal LAN activity by doing that? Or do you have to set it to default whenever you intend to the run the game?


    Edit: I can select what Network Adapter to use in Empire Earth. So is it as simple as installing Hamachi on both computers running EE and changing the adapter to Hamachi's virtual adapter?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Hamachi is working great! :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Well, Hamachi is a failure. It turns out that EE requires all LAN players be within the same subnet 255.255.255.0. Hamachi assigns IPs according to 255.0.0.0 subnet. That obviously won't do (crashes when I attempt to start hosting the game).

    Edit: OpenVPN was a failure too being way too complicated...
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,493 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,772
    try tunngle, its like hamachi
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Does that allow to set ip addresses?


    Edit: Tried GameRanger--EE AoC CTD'd.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try out TeamViewer 5 it has the option to run VPN.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,967 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,805
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Tungle worked! :eek: :D We played for about 30 minutes. I was very surprised that it did work. It doesn't look like the VPNing sort and English isn't its native language. XD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page