1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vpu error with 9600se celestica

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fung, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. Fung New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'm using a quite old computer that only support 1x-2x agp
    with a 1300 duron cpu
    and i really don't know what is the mother board
    with 512 ram(no brand name)
    and a 40 gigs harddrive

    a friend gave me a 9600se video to me(never used,last one in his store and can';t sold out)
    and i olug in my computer agp slot
    and it's working fine in window
    but when i want to play Sims
    or 3d type games, it crash, black screen and freeze and
    it shows vpu error
    recovery stuff show up

    how can i fix it?
  2. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Go to ati's website and get the the catalyst removal tool, then reinstall the newest drivers.
    If you have a cheap mobo, you might have graphics problems.
  3. Fung New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i cannot find the removal tool
    where can i get it
    i've checked in ati website
    but cannot find
  4. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    In thier driver download section there is a utilities section for catalyst, right next to the drivers. You'll find it here.
    https://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&folderID=27

    Or browse like so:
    ATI Customer Care > Drivers and Software > Utilities > Various >

    BTW, what vid card were you running before the 9600SE (please don't say onboard,lol)

    EDIT: Unfortunely, ATI's site is dynamic, so I don't know how well that link will work.
    EDIT2: Try upgrading your chipset software. (Hyperion, etc)
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2005
  5. Fung New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gf2mx440

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page