1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VRAM - only thermal pads or can I use CPU TIM?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Black Panther, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    I've got no experience on this, changed the cooler off a graphics card only once and I used thermal pads for the vram coolers.

    Is it unrecommended to use regular TIM?
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If it had thermal pads; replace with thermal pads

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    cadaveca says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,843 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,917
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Main reason is that thermal paste isn't effective when bridging the spaces where pads are used(hence why a pad is used in the first place, generally).
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea as Law mentioned, only use thermal pads. TIM can damage the VRMs since some TIM is conductive.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,490 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    Depending on the TIM it might be hard to make them stick, as they would be on upside down.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page