1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vrm and Vram cooling

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by technao, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm thinking of buying the Asus R9 270x Top ( http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/R9_270X_Direct_Cu_II_TOP/3.html )but I saw that she did not have any cooling for the Vrm and memories Vram. This is asus lower costs?
    Normally on other cards comes with aluminum in VRM mosfets and heatskins Vram but this asus they are all naked.
    [​IMG]

    This will affect the longevity of the card?
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2014
  2. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    anyone?
  3. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Rīga
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,519 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,883
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    See those black flat parts on either side of the copper? Those have thermal pads between them and the aforementioned parts that make contact and cool those parts with the same fin stack.

    "ASUS is using a total of three heatpipes, two of which are twice as long to keep the card cool. You can also see a memory pad here; it cools some of the memory chips (not all). The remaining chips are cooled by the airflow of the fans."
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,613 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i think asus have been thinking of it, so you dont need too worry with that, just make sure your case has good airflow
  6. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Yes, but that is not for the vrm the top of the card.

    look at this example of asus gtx 760

    Not understand why asus did not do the same with r9 270x, it seems that lower the cost of asus amd boards :(

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,519 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,883
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Maybe they just don't need it? VRM's can run at incredibly hot temperatures and operate normally, and have a perfectly long lifespan. There is airflow from the cooler, perhaps according to recommended specs, that's enough for the AMD card?


    [​IMG]
  8. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,872 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496
    What are the temps like on them when overclocking? Search for the brand and the tolerance, I know there are some that can get up to 105 C no probs.
  9. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the cooler in this picture is upside down, the thermal pad is in contact with two memories on top.

    In fact I do not know what the maximum temperature of the card amd but asus could have put more options vrm cooling as it does on other boards
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,519 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,883
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I guess it just doesn't need it

    [​IMG]
  11. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    The VRM is 5+1 or 6 phase design which means that it is built for around 180A which the card will never ever need so the VRM will never get stressed enough to get really hot.
    RCoon says thanks.
  12. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ahh ok, well okay, I was worried, tanks!!

    What about the memories VRAM, is also not a problem? this thermal pads are in contact with two memories on top, all others are naked
  13. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,872 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496
  14. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok then, I think it is not a big problem then, is also important to have my well-cooled case, right?

    are now an off topic.
    For gaming which set you would choose?

    FX 6300 + R9 270x TOP or Intel I5 4440 + gtx 660 ?
  15. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    If you won't play RTSes the FX 6300 + R9 270X is the better setup
    RCoon says thanks.
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,519 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,883
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Pretty much this. RTS's benefit more from CPU power, the i5 is more powerful than the 6300. However most other games, FPS, racing, RPG etc, benefit more from GPU power, which would make the 270X a better choice. Depends on what you like to play.
  17. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,872 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    496
    Would AMDs new API help out with RTS' when it becomes more widely adopted?
  18. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,519 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,883
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    If the game were to bother using Mantle yes, odds are they won't, so don't hold your breath. Don't base your decision on the existence of that API.
  19. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I especially like to play online FPS, BF4, cs.go, COD etc. ..

    then fx 6300 + R9 is 270x better.

    Thank you friends, I'll still buy my desktop, then post here some photos;)

    edit :

    The complete build is

    AMD FX 6300
    Mobo Asus M5A97 R2.0
    GPU ASus R9 270x TOP
    Kingstone 8 GB DDr3 HyperX
    WD 1TB Blue
    PSU : Corsair CX 500 or Nox NX 620 ( which recommend? )
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  20. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    The corsair is better.
  21. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I already bought the desktop, I chose corsair cx 600 ;)
  22. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for the help Guys :)
  23. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    567 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    The MOSFET's used have an absolute max temp rating of 125°C, but at around 100°C the FETs are beginning to enter the dangerous "thermal runaway" zone, where the hotter they are, the hotter they get. One would be wise to avoid triple-figure temps on VRMs.

    Actually, 180A isn't entirely inconceivable. Remember, this thing has a TDP of 180W. since the GPU is operating at ~1.1V, if it was to actually consume 180W, then it would be drawing ~165A of current. Luckily, this is an edge case, and going by those MOSFETs, each phase should handle ~48A without issue, so you're right that it shouldn't be a problem for the VRM to handle even a heavily OC'd GPU.
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  24. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    The TDP is the whole board so the output for the VRM is lower due to efficiency and the core isn't the only thing that uses power. Also TPU's reviews show the card drawing 137W peaks and 178W burst. If the MOSFETS really are 48A the this has a minimum output of 240A(5+1 phase) and max of 288A (6 phase). The MOSFET you linked has a different package.
  25. technao New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so there is reason for me to be concerned about my vrm and vrams not be actively dissipated? it will last less time for that?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page