1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vsync Problems..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ShadowFold, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    How come when ever I enable Vsync in a game it goes to 30fps instead of 60fps. I really like the Vsync setting but ever since I put my HD 3850 in thats what it capped at.. Its kind of annoying because I hate not having vsync but 30fps is unplayable for competitive shooters.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Yep, you lose FPS with v-sync on. Do you have a 256mb card or 512mb? Either way, it will happen especially if the game already has a frame lock.
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    512mb but it does not move from 30fps so its not like its underpowered. And I get 90-120fps with it off. Is there anyway to unlock them to 60 or something?
     
  4. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Some games that are ports from consoles have "frame rate limiters" that make it go no faster than 30fps, but it isnt because of the vsync. Its more from the game itself.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    CoD4 and Shadowrun do it and those are both on consoles.. But CoD4 ran at 60 with it on with my 8800GT.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Mabye try turning off Catalyst Ai?
     
  7. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Is the vsync enabled in game or in the CCC?
     
  8. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Also vsync usually has to do with your monitor, you might want to check what refresh rate its at.
     
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Triple buffering is supposed to improve vsync performance as well. If it's being capped at exactly 30fps on most every game though, that's likely a monitor refresh rate problem, although most run quicker than 30hz.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page