1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VVIKOO GeForce 8600 GT Turbo

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2007
    theonetruewill says thanks.
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    That's awesome overclocked this card can beat a 8600 gts:rockout:
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Just out of curiousity, why review so many 8600GT\S? Its the same old story in every instance, at higher resolutions it gets its arse kicked because of its crappy 128bit memory bus, and its a constant 50\50 with what game titles it "wins" in.
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Really nice card actually at a good price... I have never heard of that company before.
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,246 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I looked at the specs table at the top of the review, esp. HD2600XT vs 8600GT Turbo. Better memory specs on HD2600XT. More silicon, more ROPS, same shaders, yet performance only 50% of the 8600GT Turbo.

    Is there something SERIOUSLY wrong with the HD2600XT? Architecturally, or crippled BIOS. Just doesnt make sense to me. How could a classy GPU manufacturer balls it up so badly? Or is the table incorrect?

    Well, for the price, the 8600GT is the clear winner.

    Time for some AMD executives to fall on their swords.
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Architecture...it uses vector processors so it actually has 10 shaders which can preform 4 operations a clock (hence 40). I think....don't quote me on that, cause I remember reading that once and that was it. Also, the 8600s have higher clocks on the shaders.
  7. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    that is a great little card for the money, thats for sure.. I wonder if you could go even higher with a vmod...
  8. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    This thing beats the x1950 Pro in some benches? What's the world coming to?!
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,246 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    ...late nights interneting and not going to bed on time
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Wouldn't take it that simple... Because by those means my 2600xt gddr4 beats both the 8600gt and the 8600gts and even the 7900GTX 512....
    5777 3dmark06 1280x1024

    and in dx9
    the 8600gts is pretty well known for beating the 2600xt.
  11. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    It's because of your cpu. Because Wiz uses the same cpu and speed for all the tests the tests are still valid.
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Maybe part of it, the system I have the 2600xt in is a e6750, but would that little gain be enough for a few hundred points....
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Well that depends, did you overclock the e6750? Also, possible at stock speeds that it could account for the gains anyways.

    Wiz, did you overclock the system when you ran the benchmarks?
  14. VIPER

    VIPER

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    189 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    "VVIKOO, established in Paris in early 2007, is one of the world leading companies"

    Sorry if I am off-topic, but I love that part :D
  15. v-zero Guest

    Very interesting. Have to say I giggled a bit at the idea of "wico" being pronounced like "vcore" - crazy Germans lol :).
  16. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Great product from a new company. I hope they do well. I might pick one of these up in a new budget rig I'm building for a mate, thanks W1z!:toast:
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2007
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,726 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    An all aluminum VF-700? That means a copper VF-700 should be a very easy swap.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page