1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wait to killservice timeout issue

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Knoxx29, Apr 13, 2014.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all..
    I wanted to make fast my windows shutdown but I am having an issue, I set up the value in the windows registry to 5000 ( default are 12000) but it doesn't work because everytime I shutdown the PC the values return it self to default, any advice?
    Thanks
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,297
    What value?
     
  3. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    The shutdown values normally are 12000 (12 seconds ) but when set it to
    shutdown
    5000 (5 seconds ) after reboot turn back it self to 12000

    My PC takes too long to
    shutdown, About 20 or 25 seconds, that's too long and it shouldn't be
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,110 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    Every OS after Vista(and possibly Vista SP2) will reset that value to 12000 no matter what, 12000 is the minimum value allowed. Setting that value to lower than 12000 can cause issue with write caching leading to file corruption, so Microsoft made the minimum value 12000.

    If you system is taking too long to shutdown you should figure out what programs you have running that are slowing down the shutdown process, not try to improperly force kill services to speed things up.
     
    Aquinus and Knoxx29 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    I think that I know what's causing the problem, (the antivirus) maybe it's kapersky, I will try to uninstall it and than shutdown the system to see what it happens
     
  6. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,023 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  7. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    I have done all what I can't do but nothing works, still the same problemes, I uninstalled the last programs I installed but nothing, then I was googling and I found a guide where explain some methods to solve the problem
    But nothing, then i found that booting in safe mode the shutdowns time it's approximately 5 seconds, weird weird
     
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,362 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,946
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Try running RKill to see if you have any pesky stuff in memory. Once RKill kills the process then run Virus scan, and Malware scan. If it does find something then look in the location it finds it in, and delete the file. If you can't then it's started back up, and is in memory. Run RKill again and delete as soon as it finishes. I would even start in safemode, and scan again. But this is if RKill finds something. Just remember RKill won't remove it, that's why you have to scan it again with virus and malware scanners. :toast:

    EDIT: I'm not saying you have an infection. I'm just saying I would scan to be sure.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    588 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Germany
    I tried everything you suggested me but I have not had any success:banghead: so I did think:rolleyes: to do the last move:pimp: and that was to uninstall the latest programs that i installed, one by one, and what a big surprise:eek: I found the issue that was causing the shutdown process take too long:roll: the issue was a program that I installed last week called RAMDisk:shadedshu:
    RAMDisk was the first program that i did think to uninstall, after the RAMDisk uninstall process was finished I crossed my fingers and i pressed the shutdown button, to my delight:D the shutdown process works normally:peace:

    Thanks to all of you guys that were trying to help me :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page