1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Waking up to BIG problems with McAfee

Discussion in 'News' started by NamesDontMatter, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    McAfee has a bad day

    If any of you are McAfee users, you may have noticed a cool new Security Center installation this morning. But one thing that makes this new launch interesting is that with the Launch of four other new products McAfee is Issuing a major bug fix.

    More information on this story can be found here

    In my opinion the new security center certainly looks better, but now McAfee users have to relearn how to navigate it. Many users are not at ease with this situation where McAfee tries to slip a Major Bug fix under the radar, It is simply not pleasant for the customers.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TheINQ
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2006
  2. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    mcafee sux either way so it doesnt really matter if they have a problem or not, because the whole program is a problem. AVG is good use that, and ad aware, thats all i use
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i used them both too, i had mcafee for a while a few months ago, it eated a lot of memory
  4. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I used McAfee a while back and I gotta say the program was def. messed up. It came with a DELL I used to have and when I used to run it I always got an alert that there was a virus. The funny thing was that it said the virus was the McAfee program (lol). It was pretty much doing this to itself :nutkick: .

    Anyways I now use Nortons, Adaware and Yahoo Anti-Spy. They all work great together. That is on top of my two firewalls as well. Another piece of software which is also good to use (I use it sometimes) is Peer Guardian. It closes ports to certain IPs so they cannot get into your computer.
  5. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    I had mcafee ages ago and I'm never going to use that program again. It didnt stop crap getting onto my computer and when something did and it found it in a scan I would get, sorry cannot clean this item, sorry cannot delete this item, sorry cannot quarentine this item, would you like to exculde this item from future searches :roll: all it could ever do is pretend the virus wasn't there lol

    Personally I use Bitdefender 9 with ZoneAlarm Pro, Spyware Blaster, and Spybot S&D. Havent had anything major get into my system since I started using this.
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2006
  6. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Im running sygate personal firewall and a 6 month trial F-secure that's all i need.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page